Subject Expert
Paul Victor
Contact:
JFK Library
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
509-359-7909
Find a Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper
Journal Search -- Alphabetical list of the journals, magazines and newspapers we have online in our databases, and/or we have at least a few issues in print or microfilm.
If we do not have the periodical you are looking for, you may request specific articles via Interlibrary Loan.
Planning Course Guides
Access Electronic Resources from Off-Campus
All of our databases may be accessed from any computer connected to the Internet using your EWU Single Sign-On (SSO) credentials. When you click on the link for one of our electronic resources, an EWU SSO log-in screen will appear. Follow these steps to log-in:
- Click on the red EWU SSO Login button.
- Choose your account (your EWU email address).
- Enter your password.
Having trouble accessing your Single Sign-On Account?
- If you forgot your username or password, then you can go to accounts.ewu.edu to reset them. If you haven't set up your account yet (a new student or employee), then go to accounts.ewu.edu and click on Activate Account to create your password.
- Are you still having trouble with your SSO login? Contact the IT Help Desk at (509) 359-2247.
Planning Databases
Since Urban & Regional Planning is quite interdisciplinary, you need to think about what discipline would cover your issue. Below are links for useful disciplinary databases. If you are unsure, try the following all-subjects databases and note what disciplinary journals the relevant articles come from.
- Urban Studies Abstracts (EBSCOhost) -- 1973-present This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals and magazines covering urban studies, community development, urban history, and related fields.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from social science & humanities journals, back to 1999. Indexing only for articles older than 1999 & some journals this library does not subscribe to.
Architecture
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowImages of art, architecture, photographs and videos from art museums from around the world. Keyword search or browse by collection, type, or geography. Create an individual account to download the images. Downloaded images can be used in the classroom and non-commercial educational use.
Business & Economics
- Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from periodicals (including peer-reviewed journals) on all aspects of business. Contains books, plus reports, papers and company profiles. Selected titles go back as far as 1886, but most begin in the 1990s.
- EconLit (EBSCOhost) -- 1969-present This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles on economics issues from journals and magazines, dissertations, books and working papers.
Environmental Studies
- GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals and magazines (along with selected books, pamphlets and government reports) relating to human impacts on the environment.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles and analyzes citations from 20,000+ journals in the sciences and social sciences back to 1970, though some are as far back as 1788. Search this database in lieu of Web of Science.
Psychology
- PsycArticles - APA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from all American Psychological Association journals. Coverage back to the first issue of each journal, for example Psychological Review goes back to 1894.
- PsycInfo - APA (EBSCOhost) -- 1806-present This link opens in a new windowA large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
Public Policy, Public Administration & Legal Issues
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
- Legal Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from scholarly legal journals and law reviews. Most go back 20 years or less, but a few go back to the mid 1960s, including American Business Law Journal and Journal of Accountancy.
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.
Science & Technology
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCOhost) -- 1983-present This link opens in a new windowCore journals and magazines in chemistry, energy, engineering, physics, etc.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals that are mainly medical or scientific and indexing for additional journals. Most of the journals are published by Elsevier, but includes titles from 15 other scientific publishers as well.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles and analyzes citations from 20,000+ journals in the sciences and social sciences back to 1970, though some are as far back as 1788. Search this database in lieu of Web of Science.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals that are mainly scientific and medical back to 1997 with indexing for additional journals, books, and protocols. Includes ebooks in the field of education.
- Wiley Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to journals published by John Wiley & Sons, back to 1997. The database includes citations for additional titles, as well citations for articles older than 1997.
Social Sciences
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from social science & humanities journals, back to 1999. Indexing only for articles older than 1999 & some journals this library does not subscribe to.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles and analyzes citations from 20,000+ journals in the sciences and social sciences back to 1970, though some are as far back as 1788. Search this database in lieu of Web of Science.
Sociology
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.
Urban Planning Journals
The EWU Libraries has access to the following journals. Click on the links to go into the library catalog to find out where you can search the ejournals.
- Environment & Planning: Older, print editions are available from the EWU Libraries (search the library catalog for details). You can do an InterLibrary Loan request for newer articles.
- Journal of the Community Development Society (see the link for Community Development)
- Urban Geography: Older, print editions are available from the EWU Libraries (search the library catalog for details). You can do an InterLibrary Loan request for newer articles.