Subject Expert
Managing Citations
- ZoteroFree, open-source citation management system. Desktop versions and plug-ins for browsers. Lots of built-in help under Documentation.
- Mendeley Reference ManagerFree reference manager (online and desktop versions), plus some social networking tools for academics. Sponsored by Elsevier.
Education Research Databases
- ERIC: Educational Resources Information Center (EBSCOhost) -- 1966-present This link opens in a new windowComprehensive U.S. Department of Education database for education, indexing journals & magazines, as well as books, videos, conference papers and technical reports. Links to full text documents.
- Education Research Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowJournals and magazines along with books and conference papers. Coverage dates vary, but a few titles go back to 1975.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
- Education Databases: Education Research Complete & ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSimultaneous search option for the two most comprehensive education databases.
- What Works ClearinghouseU. S. Department of Education clearinghouse for scientific research on education.
APA Style
- My APA Style 7th Edition PowerPointThis is a PowerPoint I give to Education classes to teach the basics of APA Style, 7th Edition. If it's helpful to you, feel free to look through it! If it's not, use the "APA and RefWorks" tab above, or contact me by phone or email using the contact info above, and get the help you need!
- ZoteroBibA simple free online tool for generating citations.
Want quality background information?
These online encyclopedias offer summaries of topics. Entries are written by experts and usually offer suggested readings for further information. This could be a good place to start.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowSAGE Knowledge offers subject encyclopedias and reference works, mainly in the social sciences and business management.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowScholarly encyclopedias and reference works on a wide variety of topics: business, ASCD publications in education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, sciences, and the social sciences. Formerly named Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL).
- Statistics in EducationSources of national and Washington State statistics
- CQ Researcher -- 1923-present This link opens in a new windowArticles from this magazine; each weekly issue covers one current event or policy topic.
Organizations
- IRIS Center for Training EnhancementsFree online interactive resources that translate research about the education of students with disabilities into practice. Our materials cover a wide variety of evidence-based topics, including behavior, RTI, learning strategies, and progress monitoring.
- Washington State Board of Education ResearchResearch briefs about issues in the state and specific group of students and curriculum areas.
- Best WebSites for Teaching and LearningAssoc. of School Librarians top twenty five sites arranged by Digital Literacy aspects.
- National Assessment of Educational Progress NAEPReports, statistics and Nation's Report Card.
- Campbell Collaboration Library of Systematic ReviewsSystematic reviews of research including educational practice