Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Eastern Washington University Libraries

Pediatric Health Information Resources

Research guide for health information regarding children's health care practices

Call Number Areas

Refer to the following call number areas when browsing the physical collection for health sciences related material.  These call number areas are part of the Library of Congress classification scheme and can be found in both the reference and the circulating stacks.

 

Call #            Subject


R                  Medicine

RA                Public Health

RB                Pathology

RC                Internal Medicine

RC423          Speech Therapy

RD                Surgery

RE                Ophthalmology

RF                Otorhinolaryngology

RG                Gynecology

RJ                 Pediatrics

RK                Dentistry

RL                 Dermatology

RM700          Physical Therapy

RM735          Occupational Ther.

RS                Pharmacy

RT                Nursing

RV                Eclectic Med

RW               Homeopathy

RZ                Other Medicine

Finding Ebooks!

EWU-Only Catalog

EWU WorldCat Catalog

  • EWU WorldCat Catalog
    Combined catalog of EWU and over 30 academic libraries in Washington & Oregon, as well as thousands of other libraries worldwide. EWU holdings are ranked first. Requested items from Summit Libraries take 3-5 days; WorldCat interlibrary loan requests take 1-2 weeks.

Requesting a Book

Help with WorldCat Catalog

Looking for books, videos, government publications, and other materials held at EWU Libraries as well as beyond EWU Libraries? Try searching the EWU WorldCat Catalog, which offers access to over 1 billion items found in over 10,000 libraries.

  • Items held by EWU are displayed first. Click on the title of the item to view thelocation and call number.
  • Items held by one of the 37 Summit libraries are displayed next, and books, videos, etc. can be requested and sent to EWU in 3-5 business days.  Books can be checked out for 6 weeks.
  • Books, videos, etc. held by WorldCat libraries can be requested via Interlibrary Loan and sent here in 1-2 weeks

What can I find in the EWU WorldCat Catalog? | How do I search the catalog? | How do I locate an item held by EWU? | How do I request an item? | How can I get more help?

What can I find in the EWU WorldCat Catalog?

There are over 1 billion items: books, videos, CDs, plus millions of citations to articles from the databases ArticleFirst, MEDLINE, ERIC, and British Library Serials.

How do I search the catalog?

If you don't have a particular item in mind, type in your keywords as you would in Google, as a string of words.

  • Put exact phrases in quotes, e.g. "video games"
  • To find variations on a word, type the stem of the word followed by *, e.g. violen*to find violenceviolent, etc.
  • If you want to look for either word/phrase, the Boolean operator OR (must be in ALLCAPS and in parentheses), e.g. (college OR university).

Summit search box

If you know the exact title or author, click Advanced Search and fill in the boxes.

Summit Catalog Advanced Search

Search Results

Materials held by EWU Libraries are listed first (unless you change the Sort by:). Summit Libraries' materials are listed next. Relevance ranking is determined by:

  • Where your keywords are in the record. Keywords in the title, author and subject field are weighted higher than those in notes or table of contents.
  • Proximity of your keywords to each other.
  • Number of libraries that own the item.
  • How new the item is.

Refining Your Search

You may limit your results to a particular format, year, etc. by using the clustered results on the left side of the screen. Or add more keywords to the search box at the top.

Once you have found a relevant result, click on the hyperlinked title and note the Related Subjects. These are hyperlinked to bring up all the items given that particular subject.

How do I locate an item held at EWU?

Click on the title of the item to view the full record. The location, status, and call number of the item will be towards the bottom of the screen, under the heading Find a Copy in the Library.

Example of locating a book held by EWU in WorldCat

How do I request an item?

Click on the hyperlinked title to bring up the full record for a particular item. How you request it depends on whether it is:

  • a book or video held by Summit Libraries
  • a book or video held by WorldCat libraries, or
  • an article.

Books or Videos Held by Summit Libraries

At the bottom of the full record, click the red button Request Summit Item.

  • Select Eastern Washington University as your library.
  • On the next screen, type in your NetID and password (the one you use to log into the campus computers or wi-fi -- not the EagleNET one)
  • On the next screen, choose your Pickup Location (Cheney, Riverpoint or BCC) and type in your email address. We will contact you via email when the item arrives. Delivery is usually 2-4 business days.

Books or Videos Held by WorldCat Libraries

At the bottom of the full record, click the button Request from Interlibrary Loan. On the next screen choose EWU if that isn’t already defaulted, and click the Send to Interlibrary Loan button. Log in using your NetID and password. Delivery is usually 1-2 weeks, to whichever EWU campus you chose as your Pickup Location in your Interlibrary Loan account personal information.

Articles

At the bottom of the full record you'll find links to databases that have full text articles from that journal, and/or our print holding information. In the example below, this 1998 article is available in two of the databases, and we have it in print.

 

Example of locating an article in EWU WorldCat Catalog

If the article is available online, click the red Check for Full Text button. This will bring up a similar page as when you click on the yellow Check for Full Text button from our article databases:

Example of Check for Full Text information from EWU WorldCat Catalog

  • If the article is available full text online, there will be a link(s) with the name of the database (e.g. ProQuest, JSTOR, etc.). Just click on the link and you will automatically be taken directly to the article, or at least to a list of issues of the periodical.
  • A link to Try searching the EWU Catalog... will appear if the system thinks we have cataloged the periodical. Click on the link to see if we have a print or microfilm copy of the volume/issue you need.

If it is not online, nor have we cataloged the periodical, then a link to search the catalog by title appears. This probably means we do not have it, but double-check.

If we don't, then you may Request an Interlibrary Loan for the article by clicking on the link. Log in using your NetID and password. Electronic delivery takes 1-2 weeks. For more information, see Interlibrary Loan.

How can I get more help?

Please contact a reference librarian by calling 359-2263, or go to Ask a Librarian to chat or send an e-mail.