Home - McNair Research Methods - Library Resources Guide - Research Guides at Eastern Washington University

Online Reference Books

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2014
''This work provides authoritative essays on virtually all social science methods topics, both quantitative and qualitative."

Courtesy of NCSU Libraries

Browse by Topics in CQ Research
Browse by topic or keyword to find information covering a broad range of important issues in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Weekly reports dating back to 1923.
Note: You can browse topic ideas by general area, then click on a topic for more specific topics, finally locate reports.

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books, and videos in all subjects.
PsycInfo - APA (EBSCOhost) -- 1806-present This link opens in a new window
A large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Back files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
Education Databases: Education Research Complete & ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous search option for the two most comprehensive education databases.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Database for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.

EWU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for books, videos, articles and more at EWU Libraries, Summit Libraries and beyond. While not required, if you want the full functionality (save or request items, etc.), please sign in with your NetID.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Google Scholar to search for scholarly articles across the Web (this can be a good complement to subscription databases). Note the citation tracking feature. This link includes Eastern Washington University indicators. You will see "Find it @ EWU" in your results, if we have the article full text in one of our databases.