ARTH 302 - Art Across Time II - Artwork Research

This guide supports Art Across Time II (ARTH 302) students in researching artworks from the Metropolitan Museum of Art (Met) -- with particular emphasis on accessing online resources and how to request physical resources during the pandemic.

Below you will find suggested steps for researching your artist and artwork, with links to relevant resources and some directions and tips.

Please don't hesitate to be in touch with me to request assistance with research for this project.  Send me an email or message me through Canvas.

Best of luck with your assignment!

Rose Krause, Librarian for Art

Video Tutorials and Powerpoint Presentations

(You may be prompted to "Enroll" in my Canvas site, which is where these files live).

• Powerpoint Presentation
• Video:  Search and Request Physical Items from EWU and Summit Libraries
• Video:  Search for and Request Physical Items Using Interlibrary Loan
• Video:  Search for Items Available Online in Internet Archive

Go to the Met Museum website and search for your artwork using the "Search" button in the top right area of the site.

From the "Results" list select the "Artwork" record for your work. Mine is:

Navigate to the "References" section of the Artwork record.  Expand the section by clicking the "+".

Copy and paste the list of sources from the "References" list into a text editor (Word; Google Doc, etc.).

Locate the "Met Publications" section of the Artwork record.  Expand the section by clicking the "+". Copy the text and links into your text editor.

Review the sources from your "References" list.  Identify exhibition catalogs, catalogues raissones, and other credible art history sources (essays by museum curators, for example).  Also make sure you select sources that are in languages you can read (my list, for example, contains many sources in French), and that were published after about 1980(?), depending on the type of source.

What is an exhibition catalog?

• Read the definition in Grove Art

What is a catalogue raissone?

• Read the definition in Grove Art
• Read the definition in The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (2 ed.)
• See Dr. Girard's lecture on Rocaille, which includes a discussion of the connoisseur and an example of a catalogue raissone

Some publications from your References list may be available online, either through the Met or other sources, like the Internet Archive.

Remember the "Met Publications" list you copied in Step 2?  Go back to that list and click on the links.  Met publications available for download can be saved by clicking the "Download pdf" button.

Some publications, however, are not available online.  You'll know this when the record says "This title is in print" and the only button you see says "Buy the book."  If this is a publication you would like to view, search for and request the item using Step 4, then Step 5.

The Internet Archive makes some publications available for limited "check out".  I discovered that links to materials available through Internet Archive will appear if you search for a title in WorldCat (this is the database you'll use to search for and request physical items through the Interlibrary Loan system in Step 5).  Once you click on the item record in your search results list, you'll see a link to the Internet Archive ebook.

See the video tutorial on searching and locating Internet Archive items using WorldCat

Once you have identified relevant and credible sources, you are ready to track down these sources using "Known Item Searching."

SEARCHING

Identify the following elements to use when searching:

• Author
• Publication Title
• Source Type:  Book; journal article; chapter IN a book

Use the EWU Library Catalog to search for items. Use the "EWU and Summit" search scope.

View this video tutorial showing how to search and request items using the EWU Library Catalog.

REQUEST AND DELIVERY OPTIONS

Students living in Spokane County can pick up items from JFK Library on the Cheney campus or Spokane Academic Library on the Spokane campus.

For students living outside Spokane County, you can request up to 4 items be mailed to you (this includes EWU, Summit and Interlibrary Loan items).  EWU Libraries will pay for the items to be mailed to you and will pay for return shipping.  You may also return items to a Summit library near you; please work with EWU Libraries staff to identify a Summit library that will allow returns.

REQUEST A SCAN SERVICE

You may also request a scan of a book chapter or article be sent to you.  This request will be fulfilled within copyright and fair use rules.  You will need to provide the book title (if applicable), chapter or article title, author (of the book and of the article or chapter, if applicable), date of publication, and page range (if possible).  Please see the instructions for how to request a scan under Additional Resources and Options.

Use the WorldCat database to search for and request items using the Interlibrary Loan system (materials from libraries around the world).

View this short video on how to search and request in WorldCat.

Questions about Interlibrary Loan?  See the Interlibrary Loan information pages.

REQUEST AND DELIVERY OPTIONS

Students living in Spokane County can pick up items from JFK Library on the Cheney campus or Spokane Academic Library on the Spokane campus.

For students living outside Spokane County, you can request up to 4 items be mailed to you (this includes EWU, Summit and Interlibrary Loan items).  EWU Libraries will pay for the items to be mailed to you and will pay for return shipping.  You may also return items to a Summit library near you; please work with EWU Libraries staff to identify a Summit library that will allow returns.

REQUEST A SCAN SERVICE

You may also request a scan of a book chapter or article be sent to you.  This request will be fulfilled within copyright and fair use rules.  You will need to provide the book title (if applicable), chapter or article title, author (of the book and of the article or chapter, if applicable), date of publication, and page range (if possible).  Please see the instructions for how to request a scan under Additional Resources and Options.

Grove Art Online (part of Oxford Art Online) is an encyclopedia of artists and art terms.  It is a great source of background information, as well as for bibliography lists of art history publications you might consider requesting for your assignment.

**Please note that not all artists will have entries in Grove Art.**

• Search for your artist's name to see if there is an entry in Grove Art.
  • View the Grove Art video tutorial available on Canvas (sign in with your EWU SSO).
  • Use quotation marks around the artist's name to specify that you want the entire name to be searched, such as "Marie Watt".
• Use the PDF icon in the upper right area of the window to export a copy of the entry.
• Use the bibliography and publications list at the end of the entry to identify additional sources you might request using Steps 3-5 above.

Please complete an evaluation in Survey Monkey that tells me what went well and didn't go well in these recorded sessions.  The survey is anonymous and has nothing to do with your performance in this course.

Survey link:  https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/CCJRJXZ

Thank you for your feedback!