Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Eastern Washington University Libraries

Mechanical Engineering

RefWorks

Video Demo of Using RefWorks

Help Using RefWorks (New System)

Create Personal Account

First thing you will need to do with RefWorks is create an account, even if you have a RefWorks Legacy account. Use the link above, so they know that you are affiliated with EWU. Just click the grey Create Account. (We are not listed in the "Use login from my institution.")

RefWorks Basics

RefWorks is citation management system. You can import references from many of the library's databases, or manually add one, and organize them into different folders.

To import references from a database, look for Export, then choose RefWorks. It's next to the Save or Email functions.

You can generate bibliographies in virtually any style, from common ones such as APA and MLA, to obscure ones such as the one for Journal of Mammalogy

RefWorks offers two Tools (just click Tools at the top):

  • Save to RefWorks -- bookmarklet to add to your web browser. It will grab the metadata of the website you are on, to aid in citing it.
  • Cite References in Your Word Processor -- This will help with in-text citations as well as the bibliography at the end. There are a couple different ones, depending on the software/operating system. If you have issues with it not working with your version of Word, use the Add-on for Google Docs. That one works well, and isn't dependent on your operating system. (You can always save the Google Doc as a Word document after you have added your references.)

Brief Overview of RefWorks (from their Knowledge Center)

Mendeley

What is Mendeley?

Mendeley is a free citation management system, but it also includes social networking features. It is sponsored by Elsevier, one of the largest scientific publishing companies in the world. Therefore, it's designed for researchers to discover and download journal articles and resources, organize them, read and annotate PDFs, create in-text references and bibliographies, and collaborate with other researchers. You can pay for a premium version, if you need more than 2 GB of space or need to create more than one private group with more than 3 people.

Tutorials

See http://resources.mendeley.com/ for quick start guides and videos produced by Mendeley. Highly recommended that you peruse the relevant Getting Started guide!

Tips & General Advice

Mendeley offers a desktop and web version. Create an account, download the desktop version, or the streamlined Reference Manager version for newer Mac OS, and log into the web version -- click on Library to view references. If you use both, you'll have to sync the desktop version to the web one.

Mendeley Desktop can be used with:

  • Windows - x64 and x86 of the following operating Systems: Windows 7, Windows 8.1 and Windows 10 – Version 1803
  • Mac - macOS 10.10 (Yosemite), macOS 10.11 (El Capitan), macOS 10.12 (Sierra), macOS 10.13 (High Sierra)
  • Linux - x64 and x86 of the following operating Systems: Ubuntu and Kubuntu 17.04 (Zesty Zapus), Ubuntu and Kubuntu 16.04 LTS (Xenial Xerus), Debian Stretch 9.

Mendeley Reference Manager - streamlined version of just your stored references

  • Windows - x64 & x86: Windows 7 and above
  • Mac: OSX 10.10 and above
  • Linux: Generic Linux 64 bit (Debian, Ubuntu)

Adding References to Mendeley

From EBSCOhost and Other Library Databases

Use the Export function in the library database, then choose a generic format. BibTeX is a good choice. Save the .bib text file generated.

Note: Mendeley is affiliated with Scopus, so you can just choose Mendeley when exporting records from Scopus.

  • In the Desktop, click Add, then Add Files and upload the text file.
  • In Reference Manager, click Add New, then Import Library and choose BibTeX. (Or File(s) from computer.)
  • In the web version Library, click Add, then Import BibTeX.

I have the DOI

With just the DOI, you can manually add a reference in the Desktop or Reference Manager version. (Doesn't appear to work with the web version.) Just choose Add Entry Manually and paste the DOI. For the Desktop, click the search icon after you've pasted it in the DOI field.

Using Mendeley Web Importer

Mendeley Web Importer is an extension for Chrome. (It's supposed to work with Firefox, but it isn't working at the moment. It doesn't work with Safari.) Access via the Desktop version or Reference Manager (under Tools), or go to https://www.mendeley.com/reference-management/web-importer/.

Once you have it added, you'll see the red Mendeley icon in the upper right corner. Click on the icon, log into Mendeley, and then it will try to grab any reference or PDF it detects on the web page you are on. Select the references and download the PDFs into your Mendeley account.

Using Mendeley with MIcrosoft Word

Mendeley Cite is a plug-in for MS Word 2016 or newer. Access the installation in either the Desktop version (under Tools, MS Word Plug-in), or Reference Manager (under Tools, Mendeley Cite for Microsoft Word). If you encounter a problem adding it, it's probably because the EWU SSO page is hidden -- just minimize screens until you find it. Note: It does not show up in the Microsoft Add-ins, for whatever reason.

Once you have installed the plug-in, click on References in the toolbar, and you'll see Mendeley Cite. Click on it to view your references. You can insert a reference as you type, then choose your style to create the bibliography at the end.

 

Examples of Citation Styles for the Sciences

There is no one set citation style in the sciences. Each journal may have a slightly different method of citing sources. Please consult with your professor on what exact style to follow. But the format will look something like one of these:

From Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA)

Journal Articles

Authors. Title of article. Name of J.Abbr. Year; vol#(issue#):startpage#-endpage#.

Example: Campbell KHS, McWhir J, Ritchie WA, Wilmut I. Sheep cloned by nuclear transfer from a cultured cell line. Nature 1996;380(6569):64-66. 

Books

Author(s). Title of book. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher; Year.

Example: Cohen CB. Renewing the stuff of life: Stem cells, ethics, and public policy. New York, NY: Oxford University Press; 2007.

From Nature

Journal Articles

Authors. Title of article. Name of J. Abbr. vol#, startpage#-endpage# (Year).

Example: Campbell KHS, McWhir J, Ritchie WA, Wilmut I. Sheep cloned by nuclear transfer from a cultured cell line. Nature. 380, 64-66 (1996).

Books

Author(s). Title of the Book (Name of Publisher, Place of Publication, Year).

Example: Cohen C. B. Renewing the Stuff of Life: Stem Cells, Ethics, and Public Policy (Oxford University Press, New York, NY, 2007).

From Science

Journal Articles

Authors, Name of J. Abbr. vol#, startpage# (Year).

Example: K. H. S. Campbell,  J. McWhir, W. A. Ritchie, I. Wilmut, Nature380, 64 (1996).

Books

Author(s), Title of Book (Name of Publisher, Place of Publication, Year).

Example: C. B. Cohen, Renewing the Stuff of Life: Stem Cells, Ethics, and Public Policy. (Oxford University Press, New York, NY, 2007).

From Journal of Mammalogy

Journal Articles

AUTHORS. Year. Title of article. Name of Journal. vol#:startpage#-endpage#.

Example: CAMPBELL K. H. S., MCWHIR J., RITCHIE W. A., and I. WILMUT. 1996. Sheep cloned by nuclear transfer from a cultured cell line. Nature. 380:64-66.

Books

AUTHOR(S). Year. Title of the book. Name of Publisher, Place of Publication.

Example: COHEN, C. B. 2007. Renewing the stuff of life: stem cells, ethics, and public policy. Oxford University Press, New York.