Subject Expert
Ielleen Miller
she/her
Contact:
Office: JFK Library, U02C
Email: imiller@ewu.edu
Text or phone: 509.818.0559
Meet with Me (Office Hours):Wednesdays & Thursdays 3-5pm or by appointment, in person or via zoom.
Use the Schedule Research Consultation button above, for Mon-Fri 9-6pm. If you need to meet during the evening or weekend, please email me.
Dictionaries
-
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the most comprehensive dictionary of the English language. Offers definitions over time and contextual examples of usage, including the first written usage.
-
Help with the OED OnlineNot sure how to do X and want to look through their documentation? Use this link to access quick guides as well as detailed information.
Find Biographical Info and Standard Literary Criticism
The library has a number of reference works online and in print that offer biographical information and general interpretations of major works. Gale Literary Sources is the largest online collection, but I have listed a few others to give you a taste of what we have in the Reference collection in the JFK Library.
-
Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowSearches across several Gale literary databases, including Literature Criticism, Gale eBooks - Biography & Literature collections, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Something About the Author (biographical and critical information on children's and YA authors). Formerly named Gale Literary Sources, Artemis Literary.
-
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Call Number: Main Level Reference - CB361 .E52 1999Publication Date: 1999This 6 volume set treats the full period of the Renaissance, from 1350 to 1650, encompassing Italy and the rest of Europe in the context of the broader world. It contains topical entries and biographies, and alphabetically arranged articles on culture, literature, philosophy, religion, economics, politics, science, and the arts
Find Background Info for History, Culture, etc.
If you'd like an overview of an event or culture. Think Wikipedia-like, but entries are written by scholars.
-
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowScholarly encyclopedias and reference works on a wide variety of topics
-
EWU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowThe catalog has records for online encyclopedias. Keyword search, then on the left side under Format click Reference Entries
But I'd rather watch a video...
We also have two databases with thousands of streaming documentaries.
-
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new windowDocumentaries, feature films, performances, interviews, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage.
-
Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new windowOn-demand streaming video service with over 10,000 titles, ranging from feature films, television shows, and documentaries. Note: Most of the titles available are not listed in the EWU Library Catalog. If it says "request access," we do not have licensing for that title. Faculty can request access for their classes.
Resources for Critical Theories, Literary Terms, Etc.
We have a mix of eBook and print reference books for defining critical theories, literary terms, etc.
-
Excerpts from Longman Dictionary of Literary TermsOffers concise (1-4 paragraph) definitions of some of the critical theories assigned by Dr. Torgerson.
-
Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory, 5th Edition
Publication Date: 2013Can download as a PDF the entire book.
"With new entries and sensitive edits, this fifth edition expands on the previous edition to incorporate the most recent literary terminology. New material is particularly focused in areas such as gender studies and queer theory, post-colonial theory, post-structuralism, post-modernism, narrative theory, and cultural studies. Existing entries have been edited to ensure that topics receive balanced treatment." -
Encyclopedia of Literature and Criticism
Publication Date: 1990ProQuest eBook, so you'll have to log in first.
"Offers lengthy discussions of the major literary criticism lenses: Marxist, New Criticism, Structuralism & Post-Structuralism, Feminist, Psychoanalytic, Deconstruction, and New Historicism. In 90 essays by leading international critics and scholars, the volume covers both traditional topics such as literature and history, poetry, drama and the novel, and also newer topics such as the production and reception of literature." -
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Publication Date: 2004Gale 6-volume online encyclopedia
Offers concise entries on all aspects of academic thought, not just literary methodologies. But the major methodologies are present. -
Literary Movements for Students: Presenting Analysis, Context, and Criticism on Literary Movements by
Publication Date: 20092-volume online encyclopedia offering concise entries on major literary movements (absurdism to transcendentalism), with an introduction to the movement; discussion of representative authors and works; analysis of predominant themes; and an explanation of related literary techniques. Includes a glossary of literary terms. -
Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature
Publication Date: 2011Presents an encyclopedia of themes in literature in an alphabetical format listing authors and their works.
Print Reference Works
-
The Bedford Glossary of Critical and Literary Terms
by
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference - PN44.5 .M86 2003Publication Date: 2003"The Bedford Glossary presents definitions of more than 700 literary and critical terms for today's student." -
Longman Dictionary of Literary Terms
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference - PN44.5 .K46 2006Publication Date: 2006 -
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
by
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference - PN81 .J554 2005Publication Date: 2004"While concentrating on the explosion of contemporary critical and theoretical works, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of ideas and individuals ranging from Plato and Aristotle to twentieth-century scholars. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods." -
Glossary of Contemporary Literary Theory
by
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference - PN44.5 .H37 2000Publication Date: 2000"Now in its fourth edition, the critically acclaimed Glossary of Contemporary Literary Theory has been thoroughly revised and expanded to include over 70 important new terms and usages from this volatile and fast-changing field." -
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory
by
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference - PN98.W64 E53 1997Publication Date: 1997"Features-in quick and convenient form-precise definitions of important terms and concise summaries of the salient ideas of critics working in the field who have made significant contributions to feminist literary studies, and points out how a feminist perspective has affected the development of emerging ideas and intellectual practices."
