Subject Expert
Office: JFK Library, U02C
Email: imiller@ewu.edu
Text or phone: 509.818.0559
Meet with Me (Office Hours):Wednesdays & Thursdays 3-5pm or by appointment, in person or via zoom.
Use the Schedule Research Consultation button above, for Mon-Fri 9-6pm. If you need to meet during the evening or weekend, please email me.
Get Help
- Text Message us! 509-383-8677 (not 24/7)
- 509-359-2263 JFK Library reference desk (Cheney)
Collections of African Studies Journals on the Internet (Full-Text May Not be Available)
- African Journals Online (AJOL)African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and pre-eminent collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals (490 journals currently). *Note: We do not subscribe to this resource, so only some of the content is available for free.
- Archive of African JournalsTo expand free, online access to journals published in Africa, the African e-Journals This project has digitized full text articles of eleven social science and humanities journals and made them available on this web site.
- African Studies Abstracts OnlineA mix of abstracts & full text (PDF) of 260 African studies journals.
Search Google Scholar
*Before using Google Scholar, be sure to go to the Preferences page and find/select the EWU Libraries (in the Library Links section). That way you can access the full-text of articles that we have in our databases.
Find a Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper
Journal Search -- Alphabetical list of the journals, magazines and newspapers we have online in our databases, and/or we have at least a few issues in print or microfilm.
If we do not have the periodical you are looking for, you may request specific articles via Interlibrary Loan.
Access Databases from Off-Campus
All of our databases may be accessed from any computer connected to the Internet, with your Single Sign-on (SSO) username and password. This username/password is the same one that you use to log into campus computers, the wireless network, EWU Google Drive, EWU email, etc.
If you have not created your password, go to accounts.ewu.edu. See IT Support Solutions for more information.
If you have problems logging in, see below.
Anthropology Focused Databases
- Anthropology Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase includes Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature which covers journal articles, reports and commentaries for anthropology, archaeology, and related research back to the 19th century.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
Health Sciences Databases
- Health/Medicine Databases: CINAHL, MEDLINE & Health Sources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch four health/medicine databases simultaneously: the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, MEDLINE, Health Source Consumer and Health Source Academic.
History Databases
*Note: For additional resources, please see our history or American Indian Studies research guides.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost) -- 1954-present This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. Find full text from hundreds of scholarly journals and more.
Multidiscipinary Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books, and videos in all subjects.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from social science & humanities journals, back to 1999. Indexing only for articles older than 1999 & some journals this library does not subscribe to.
Psychology
- PsycArticles - APA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from all American Psychological Association journals. Coverage back to the first issue of each journal, for example Psychological Review goes back to 1894.
- PsycInfo - APA (EBSCOhost) -- 1806-present This link opens in a new windowA large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
Sociology
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.