Art reference works, including Grove Art Online and Benezit Dictionary of Artists, images, biographies, and scholarly articles. Grove Art: Access restricted to 8 users at a time. Try again later if you cannot access this resource. Benezit: Access restricted to 1 user at a time. Try again later if you cannot access this resource.
"[A] comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts—from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture."
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference - N31 .D5 1996
Note: Also available electronically through Oxford Art Online.
Boasting well over 6,000 contributors from 12 countries, the Dictionary offers its readers authoritative and comprehensive global coverage. A resource for both art and cultural studies, the Dictionary serves as a unique guide to all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, as well as the decorative arts.
Note: Also available as an ebook at https://alliance-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/f/1q12ets/CP71156598160001451.
The Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography is the first comprehensive encyclopedia of world photography up to the beginning of the twentieth century. It sets out to be the standard, definitive reference work on the subject for years to come. Its coverage is global - an important 'first' in that authorities from all over the world have contributed their expertise and scholarship towards making this a truly comprehensive publication.The Encyclopedia presents new and ground-breaking research alongside accounts of the major established figures in the nineteenth century arena. Coverage includes all the key people, processes, equipment, movements, styles, debates and groupings which helped photography develop from being 'a solution in search of a problem' when first invented, to the essential communication tool, creative medium, and recorder of everyday life which it had become by the dawn of the twentieth century.
Note: Also available as an ebook at https://alliance-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/f/1gp99gp/CP71348130000001451.
Photography is an international cultural form, practice, and profession. Encompassing art, advertising, journalism, fashion, commercial, political, and everyday photography, the field of photography also includes chemical processes, mechanical inventions, equipment, industries, movements, techniques, terms and concepts. In addition, photography has a considerable presence in public forums of all kinds, such as museums, archives, galleries, and publications. The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography brings together this rich history in three volumes. It explores the vast international scope of twentieth-century photography and explains that history with a wide-ranging, interdisciplinary manner. This unique approach covers the aesthetic history of photography as an evolving art and documentary form, while also recognizing it as a developing technology and cultural force.
Search for an artists by name, artworks by title, museums by name, or browse for artists by name, medium, art movement, subject, or nationality. Some images of an artist's works are included. Feature articles, not to be confused with peer-reviewed articles, are also included.
Established in 1996, this the first art newspaper on the net. Keep up-to-date on the national and international art scene; find links to 360 degree/3D images of art and architecture; photography (history, directories, institutes and museums); as well as links to different artists.
Geared to art education, this extensive list of web sites includes course syllabi, teaching resources, in addition to art techniques, art departments, art therapy, artist's works, as well as auctions, galleries, and museums.
"...the world's first interactive digital archive of policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States. It is a collaborative effort of Princeton University's Firestone Library and the Princeton Center for Arts and Cultural Policy Studies. The Pew Charitable Trusts (http://www.pewtrusts.org) underwrote the original development of the archive."