Both print and online reference sources including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks are great starting points for background information. The following recommended background sources can provide context for your topic.
This concise encyclopedia is the most complete international survey of sociology ever created in one volume. It contains over 800 entries from the whole breadth of the disciplines. Each entry includes references and suggestions for further reading Cross-referencing allows easy movement around the volume
The Encyclopedia of Social Theory, two-volume set, covers key social theories and the theorists. Theories include structural fundamentalism, critical theory, ethnomethodology, exchange theory, feminism, multiculturalism and postmodernism.
The Encyclopedia of Environment and Society brings together multiplying issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature.
This three-volume reference addresses the wide range of issues that concern race and ethnicity alongside descriptive entries about racial, ethnic, and nationality groups worldwide. Entries are provided for selected countries, biographies, community and urban issues, concepts and theories, economics and stratification, and education, among other major themes.
This reference source examines the current situation in the United States with a comparative sampling of homelessness around the world. Key themes include causes, lifestyle issues, health issues & services, legal issues & advocacy, governmental policies & programs, research approaches, and public perceptions of homelessness.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty, 2nd edition, addresses the persistence of poverty across the globe while updating and expanding the landmark work, Encyclopedia of World Poverty, originally published in 2006 prior to the economic calamities of 2008.
"This encyclopedia covers topics from terrorism to social inequality and from health care to environmental issues, and many other social problems that are a continuing concern in our lives. These two volumes cover all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in social problems and also provide insight into how social conditions get defined as social problems, and the ways different people and organizations view and try to solve them."
This three-volume encyclopedia covers the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.
This five-volume encyclopedia surveys the history and philosophy of crime, punishment, and criminal justice institutions in America from colonial times to the present. It covers the whole of the criminal justice system, from crimes, law enforcement and policing, to courts, corrections and human services.
This 9-volume reference work covers scholarship and highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
This volume provides an authoritative overview of the classical and the contemporary fields of sociology. It features over 600 entries, from concise definitions to discursive essays, it offers a global perspective, examining both American and European traditions and approaches.
This two-volume reference handbook focus on the corpus of knowledge garnered in traditional areas of sociological inquiry, as well as document the general orientation of the newer and currently emerging areas of sociological inquiry.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (HM425 .D5735 2005)
Publication Date: 2005
This dictionary provides over 2500 entries, covering the major concepts from related disciplines and international coverage of terms, methods, and concepts, as well as biographical entries on major figures.
"Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists."