Access Electronic Resources from Off-Campus
All of our databases may be accessed from any computer connected to the Internet, with your NetID username and password. This username/password is the same one that you use to log into campus computers, the wireless network, NetStorage,etc.
- For students, your username is the first letter of your first name, your last name, and the last 2 digits of your EagleCard number.
- For faculty/staff, your username and password are the same ones you use to access EWU email.
If you have not created your password, go to accounts.ewu.edu. See NetID Account for more information.
Online Reference Books
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowA large collection of scholarly encyclopedias and reference works on various history topics (both U.S. & world history). Browse by subject (right hand side of the page) and select History to see what's available. Use the Search Within Collection box to keyword search the History collection.
Print Reference Books: U.S. Military History
Americans at War by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E181 .A453 2005ISBN: 002865806XPublication Date: 2004-12-03
Civil War by Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks (E468 .C65 2006)ISBN: 1572154624Publication Date: 2000
The Civil War Naval Encyclopedia by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (E591 .C53 2011)ISBN: 1598843389Publication Date: 2010
Cold War by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: D839.5 .C65 1992ISBN: 0810389274Publication Date: 1992-12-01
Colonial Wars of North America, 1512-1763 by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (E46.5 .C65 1996)ISBN: 0824072081Publication Date: 1996
The Encyclopedia of African American Military History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: UB418 .A47 W45 2004ISBN: 1591021693Publication Date: 2004-07-01
Encyclopedia of American Military History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E181 .E63 2003ISBN: 0816043558Publication Date: 2003-03-01
Encyclopedia of Native American Wars and Warfare by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E81 .E98 2005ISBN: 0816033374Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E468 .E53 2000ISBN: 1576070662Publication Date: 2000-12-13
Encyclopedia of the American Revolutionary War by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E208 .E64 2006ISBN: 1851094083Publication Date: 2006-09-28
Encyclopedia of the Korean War by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: DS918 .E53 2000ISBN: 1576070298Publication Date: 2000-06-28
Encyclopedia of the Persian Gulf War by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (UF500 .G8 1995)ISBN: 1576074064Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: DS557.7 .E53 1998ISBN: 0874369835Publication Date: 1998-09-18
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (DS557.7 .E53 2000)ISBN: 0195135245Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (DS557.7 .E53 1996)ISBN: 0132769328Publication Date: 1996
The Encyclopedia of Warships by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (V765 .E53 2006)ISBN: 1592236278Publication Date: 2006.
Encyclopedia of World War I by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: D510 .E53 2005ISBN: 1851094202Publication Date: 2005-09-27
Encyclopedia of World War II by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: D740 .E516 2005ISBN: 1576079996Publication Date: 2004-12-17
Oxford Companion to American Military History by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (E181 .O94 1999)ISBN: 0195071980Publication Date: 2000
The Oxford Companion to the Second World War by ISBN: 0192141686Publication Date: 2000
World War II in Europe by ISBN: 0824070291Publication Date: 1998
Print Reference Books: U.S. History
Pring reference books are located on the main level of the JFK Library (behind the reference desk). U.S. history is mostly in the E call number range. You cannot check reference books out, but you can make copies of relevant sections.
Dictionary of American History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E174 .D52 2003ISBN: 0684805332Publication Date: 2002-12-11*Also available online
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E169.1 .E624 2001ISBN: 0684805618Publication Date: 2001-03-26
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E169.1 .E626 2001ISBN: 0684805006Publication Date: 2000-12-13
The Oxford Companion to United States History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E174 .O94 2001ISBN: 0195082095Publication Date: 2001-07-04
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E183 .P85 2010ISBN: 0691129711Publication Date: 2009-11-09
Print Reference Books: African American History
Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference E441 .D53 1997ISBN: 0275957993Publication Date: 1997
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E185 .E54 1996ISBN: 9780028973456Publication Date: 1995-12-01
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History (Supplement) by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E185 .E54 1996 Suppl.ISBN: 0028654412Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895 by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E185 .E545 2006ISBN: 9780195167771Publication Date: 2006-04-06
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E185 .E5453 2009ISBN: 9780195167795Publication Date: 2009-02-02
Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference HT861 .H57 1997ISBN: 0874368855Publication Date: 1997
Shapers of the Great Debate on the Civil War by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference E467 .M77 2005ISBN: 0313317453Publication Date: 2005
Slavery in America by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference E441 .S36 2000ISBN: 0816038635Publication Date: 2000
Print Reference Books: Native Americans
Native peoples A to Z: A reference guide to native peoples of the western hemisphereCall Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E58 .N38 2009ISBN: 9781878592736Publication Date: 2009
The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E77 .G15 1998ISBN: 0787610852Publication Date: 1998-03-05
Handbook of North American Indians by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E77 .H25ISBN: 0160803888Publication Date: 2008-07-15- Encyclopedia of Native American Wars and Warfare by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E81 .E98 2005ISBN: 0816033374Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Major Movements (Listed chronologically)
Development of a Nation, (1783-1815) by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E164 .A44 1997ISBN: 0787614815Publication Date: 1997-10-31
Civil War and Reconstruction (1850-1877) by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E166 .A48 1997ISBN: 078761484XPublication Date: 1997-08-08
Development of the Industrial United States (1878-1899) by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E169.1 .A476 1997ISBN: 0787614858Publication Date: 1997-05-23
The Sixties in America by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E841 .S55 1999ISBN: 0893569828Publication Date: 1999-03-01
Print Reference Books: Civil Rights
Encyclopedia of American Civil Liberties by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference KF4747.5 .E53 2006ISBN: 9780415943420Publication Date: 2006-10-10This majorEncyclopediain American history and law is the first devoted to issues of civil liberties and the meaning of freedom in American life. It covers the traditional civil liberties: freedom of speech, press, religion, assembly, and petition.
Encyclopedia of American Indian Civil Rights by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference KF8210.C5 E53 1997ISBN: 0313293384Publication Date: 1997
Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E185.61 .E544 1998ISBN: 9780765680006Publication Date: 1997
International Encyclopedia of Human Rights by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference JC571 .M3243 2000ISBN: 1568024908Publication Date: 2000
Martin Luther King, Jr. Encyclopedia by Call Number: E185.97 .K5 M334 2008ISBN: 9780313294402Publication Date: 2008
