Subject Expert
Quick Links
Find Books, Videos
EWU Library Catalog
Search for books, videos, articles and more at EWU Libraries, Summit Libraries and beyond.
The Dewey Decimal System
Here is a description of the Dewey Decimal System and where you will find different subjects. The only part in the JFK library to have to Dewey Decimal System is the Curriculum Center.
- Dewey Decimal Classification SystemHere is a link to break down the Dewey Decimal System's numbers and categories.
Education Research Databases
- Education Research Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowJournals and magazines along with books and conference papers. Coverage dates vary, but a few titles go back to 1975.
- ERIC: Educational Resources Information Center (EBSCOhost) -- 1966-present This link opens in a new windowComprehensive U.S. Department of Education database for education, indexing journals & magazines, as well as books, videos, conference papers and technical reports. Links to full text documents.
- Education Databases: Education Research Complete & ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSimultaneous search option for the two most comprehensive education databases.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
- What Works ClearinghouseU. S. Department of Education clearinghouse for scientific research on education.
- Regional Educational LaboratoriesSpecific research reports for the regional educational laboratories.
Social Science & Social Work Articles
Primarily article databases covering the fields of psychology, sociology, economics, and social work.
- EconLit (EBSCOhost) -- 1969-present This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles on economics issues from journals and magazines, dissertations, books and working papers.
- PsycInfo - APA (EBSCOhost) -- 1806-present This link opens in a new windowA large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from social science & humanities journals, back to 1999. Indexing only for articles older than 1999 & some journals this library does not subscribe to.
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.
- Social Work Abstracts (EBSCOhost) -- 1965-present This link opens in a new window***This database only allows 8 users at a time***
Selectively indexes journals for articles relating to social work and human services.
Picture Books
Picture books can be a great way to help children understand disabilities in other children. Here are some booklist suggestions for some ideas on different picture books.
- The Schneider Family Book AwardsThe Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.