Subject Expert
Creative Commons License Images
Information about Books
- Novelist K-8 Plus This link opens in a new windowReader's advisory compilations for a younger audience. Includes descriptions of fiction and non-fiction books, read-alikes, book discussion guides, award lists, and recommended reading lists.
- TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new windowA combination of original author interviews, readings and videos with a structured portal to open-access Web sites on children's literature and literacy.
- Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature (DAWCL)
This link opens in a new window
DAWCL has over 10,000 records of award-winning books, taken from 125 awards across six English-speaking countries (United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, England, and Ireland). Limit your search by genre, type of protagonist, reading level, and more. - Cooperative Children's Book Center (UW Madison)
- This link opens in a new window
The CCBC provides recommended lists, bibliographies by theme, and links to other resources -- a far-reaching and free resource available via the Web. - Diverse BookFinderA tool for searching for picture books using facets describing depictions of racial/ethnic minorities
- Rainbow Representation Picture BooksThis is a list in Zotero (which we keep adding to) of all the picture books I and my colleagues have classified regarding the representation of LGBTQIA+ people in them. For more information, you can contact me, or search our Research Guides list for "Rainbow Representation" since there's a guide devoted to this project.
Checking Text Readability
Most of the above tools will report readability for formally printed texts -- NoveList and TeachingBooks are both very consistent at providing that kind of support for both fiction and non-fiction. When needing to check the readability of other kinds of texts -- a newspaper article, a website, etc. -- consider trying the free tool below:
- Automatic Readability CheckerCopy and paste a sample text of 200-3000 words, and receive seven immediate readability checks using tools designed for different purposes (each tool is described on the page).
Find Children's Books
The Curriculum Center in the Lower level of JFK Library has thousands of children's books.
- EWU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for books, videos, articles and more at EWU Libraries, Summit Libraries and beyond. While not required, if you want the full functionality (save or request items, etc.), please sign in with your NetID. - International Children's Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"A Library for the World's Children." Free database includes over 4600 full text picture books from around the world, in 59 languages.
- Spokane County Library DistrictFree card to all in the county (except cities of Spangle and Liberty Lake)
Cheney Branch - #WeNeedDiverseBooks
- This link opens in a new window
We Need Diverse Books is a 501(c)(3) non-profit and a grassroots organization of children’s book lovers that advocates essential changes in the publishing industry. Their aim is to help produce and promote literature that reflects and honors the lives of all young people. - Storyline
- This link opens in a new window
Storyline provides a reading experience in video with actors reading books. - Baldwin Digital Historical Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Historical American children's literature and books from Great Britain, back to 1700's
Book Discussions
Many publishers provide book discussion guides on their websites too.
- CCBC Book Discussion Guidelines
- This link opens in a new window
Simple effective guidelines for a book discussion. - Multcolib Research Picks: Book Group Guides
- This link opens in a new window
Good youth-friendly guides for many popular books. - Story Maps by Reading Rockets
- This link opens in a new window
Background Information
It is worth checking the Education databases for articles as well, along with bibliography books in the Zs in the Curriculum Center's teacher materials.
- Something About the Author (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new windowBiographical or autobiographical information for authors and illustrators of children's and young adult books.
- Encyclopedia of Children's Literature This link opens in a new windowEntries on all aspects of children's literature; biographical sketches on authors and illustrators, as well as articles on genres, trends and themes from an international perspective.
- Picturing Books- Picture Book Design and Art
- This link opens in a new window
This web site has clear explanations with examples about picture books, including a timeline, design, medium, and art. Look at the links on the left. While most of the resources are free is also has a subscription database.
Best Blogs
Bookmark these blogs, set them as home pages, add their RSS feed to a reader like Feedly, like them on Facebook -- keep up with what's out there in children's and YA books!
- A Book A Day Almanac
- This link opens in a new window
Anita Silvey's contribution about days connections and historical information about classics too. - Fuse # 8 Production
- This link opens in a new window
From Elizabeth Bird at NY Public hosted at School Library Journal - Nerdy Book Club
- This link opens in a new window
Three teachers (two elementary, one high school) blog about books for kids and young adults - Scope Notes
- This link opens in a new window
Travis Jonker with up to date news- connected with Kirkus News - Seven Impossible Things Before Breakfast
- This link opens in a new window
Eisha Prather and Jules Danielson. They provide amazing interviews of up-and-coming authors and illustrators.
Find a Particular Journal, Magazine, Newspaper
- Horn Book MagazineThe premier review and article magazine on children's literature.
- Book LinksWonderful lists and articles about topics, and authors.
- EWU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search to see if we have a particular journal online, in print or microfilm. Carefully note date ranges available. If online, offers links to the databases. If print or microfilm, note the call number and format for the year you need.