It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All of our databases may be accessed from any computer connected to the
Internet, with your NetID username and password. This username/password
is the same one that you use to log into campus computers, the wireless
For students, your username is the first
letter of your first name, your last name, and the last 2 digits of
your EagleCard number.
For faculty/staff, your username and password
are the same ones you use to access EWU email.
Comprehensive database for U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present that includes history journals (as far back as 1954) plus book reviews from core history journals and relevant dissertations.
Journal articles, books, magazines and government documents on all aspects of North American indigenous peoples' culture, history, and life. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present. Formerly titled Bibliography of Native North Americans.
Archives West provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the Northwestern United States, including correspondence, diaries, or photographs. Digital reproductions of primary sources are available in some cases.
The Eastern Washington State Historical Society/Northwest Museum of Arts & Culture collects art, artifacts and primary source material in three disciplines: Regional History, Fine Art, and American Indian and other cultures. The collections include over 68,000 objects representing fine art and material culture from the Americas, Europe, and Asia.
The Spokane Public Library has an extensive Northwest collection which contains over 13,000 items. The collection consists of reference books, maps, directories, periodicals, government documents, and archival materials pertaining to the history, exploration, and settlement of the Pacific Northwest. The Northwest Room offers information on every period from the late 1700's to the present. Scroll down the main Webpage to access their digital collections.
Spokane Historical is a web and mobile platform for telling stories of Spokane and Eastern Washington. It is a free app available on your Android or iPhone smart phone or tablet. Spokane Historical is a project of the Public History program at Eastern Washington University.
For the Spokane area, contact the Eastern Regional Branch located on the EWU campus (960 Washington Street, Tel.# (509)235-7508). Collections span the years from the territorial period to the present and include school census records, tax assessment rolls, court dockets and case files, photographs, maps, plats, and engineering drawings. You can also search their historical newspapers [https://www.sos.wa.gov/library/newspapers/newspapers.aspx].