Subject Expert
Paul Victor
Contact:
JFK Library
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
509-359-7909
Useful Websites
-
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative but non-technical information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other agencies and health-related organizations.
How to Access the Library's Electronic Resources from Off-Campus
All of our databases may be accessed from any computer connected to the Internet using your EWU Single Sign-On (SSO) credentials. When you click on the link for one of our electronic resources, an EWU SSO log-in screen will appear. Follow these steps to log-in:
- Click on the red EWU SSO Login button.
- Enter your username (your EWU email address).
- Enter the password you created.
Having trouble accessing your Single Sign-On Account?
- If you forgot your username or password, then you can go to accounts.ewu.edu to reset them. If you haven't set up your account yet (a new student or employee), then go to accounts.ewu.edu and click on Activate Account to create your password.
- Are you still having trouble with your SSO login? Contact the IT Help Desk at (509) 359-2247.
Education
-
Education Databases: Education Research Complete & ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSimultaneous search option for the two most comprehensive education databases.
-
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCovers 280 peer-reviewed journals aimed at professional educators.
Exercise/Sports
-
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for sports, fitness, sports medicine, and physical education. Articles from journals and magazines going back to 1985. Also includes selective indexing for around additional journals, plus assorted books and conference proceedings.
Health Science Databases
-
Health/Medicine Databases: CINAHL, MEDLINE & Health Sources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch four health/medicine databases simultaneously: the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, MEDLINE, Health Source Consumer and Health Source Academic.
-
PubMed -- 1946-present This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index to all aspects of medicine back to 1946. Freely available from the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus additional selected biomedical sources. Look for the "Check for Full Text at EWU" button within individual PubMed records.
Psychology
-
PsycArticles - APA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from all American Psychological Association journals. Coverage back to the first issue of each journal, for example Psychological Review goes back to 1894.
-
PsycInfo - APA (EBSCOhost) -- 1806-present This link opens in a new windowA large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
Sciences
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals that are mainly medical or scientific and indexing for additional journals. Most of the journals are published by Elsevier, but includes titles from 15 other scientific publishers as well.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles and analyzes citations from 20,000+ journals in the sciences and social sciences back to 1970, though some are as far back as 1788. Search this database in lieu of Web of Science.
-
SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals that are mainly scientific and medical back to 1997 with indexing for additional journals, books, and protocols. Includes ebooks in the field of education.
-
Wiley Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to journals published by John Wiley & Sons, back to 1997. The database includes citations for additional titles, as well citations for articles older than 1997.