History 390: National Parks

Journal Search -- Alphabetical list of the journals, magazines and newspapers we have online in our databases, and/or we have at least a few issues in print or microfilm.

If we do not have the periodical you are looking for, you may request specific articles via Interlibrary Loan.

All of our databases may be accessed from any computer connected to the Internet using your EWU Single Sign-On (SSO) credentials. When you click on the link for one of our electronic resources, an EWU SSO log-in screen will appear.  Follow these steps to log-in:

• Click on the red EWU SSO Login button.
• Choose your account (your EWU email address).
• Enter your password.

Having trouble accessing your Single Sign-On Account?

• If you forgot your username or password, then you can go to accounts.ewu.edu to reset them.  If you haven't set up your account yet (a new student or employee), then go to accounts.ewu.edu and click on Activate Account to create your password.
• Are you still having trouble with your SSO login?  Contact the IT Help Desk at (509) 359-2247.

For many of our magazines & newspapers, we usually only have the last 20-30 years of coverage available online.  Some magazines or newspapers have online archives where you can search for article citations (dates, page numbers, etc.) for free.  But remember that they are businesses who will want to charge you money for access to their periodicals.  So get the citations for articles you want and then search the EWU Catalog to see where we have the print or microfilm copy of the magazine/newspaper (probably in the lower level of the library).  If we own electronic access to a journal in a database, then you'll find a link to that resource in the EWU Library Catalog.  You can then do a keyword search for articles in that database to try to find full text.

Example: New York Times Archive – You can use the NY Times online archive to search for articles from 1851-1980.  Click on the Advanced Search link to the right to limit by date.  You can do keyword searching to find particular articles.  Once you have the citation to find the article, you can go to the JFK Lower Level Periodical Microfilm area and use this call number [AN2 .N4 N47] to find it in the cabinets.  We have from 1857-2008 and you can view the microfilm on readers located on the lower level.