Subject Expert
Paul Victor
Contact:
JFK Library
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
509-359-7909
Get Help
- Text Message us! 509-383-8677 (not 24/7)
- 509-359-2263 JFK Library reference desk (Cheney)
Health Sciences Databases
Find articles in health science databases:
- Health/Medicine Databases: CINAHL, MEDLINE & Health Sources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch four health/medicine databases simultaneously: the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, MEDLINE, Health Source Consumer and Health Source Academic.
Consumer and Public Health Resources
- Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from consumer health magazines, plus health-related pamphlets and reference books.
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Authoritative but non-technical information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other agencies and health-related organizations.
Databases with Health Science & Wellness Related Content
- Health and Social Care EncyclopediasResources available in the Health & Social Care section include online encyclopedias such as: Encyclopedia of Cancer and Society, Encyclopedia of Disability, Encyclopedia of Epidemiology, Encyclopedia of Health & Aging, Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior, Encyclopedia of Health Care Management, and Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America. Browse individual volumes or select the Advanced Search tab to search multiple encyclopedias.
- PsycInfo - APA (EBSCOhost) -- 1806-present This link opens in a new windowA large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
- PsycArticles - APA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from all American Psychological Association journals. Coverage back to the first issue of each journal, for example Psychological Review goes back to 1894.
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.
General History
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
Want to learn more about how to use JSTOR? Then look at the JSTOR help guides [https://guides.jstor.org/how-to-use-jstor/searching].
American History
- America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) -- 1954-present This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database for U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Materials include history journals, book reviews from core history journals and relevant dissertations.
World History
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost) -- 1954-present This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. Find full text from hundreds of scholarly journals and more.