Biography Databases
Biographies
-
Burke's genealogical and heraldic history of the peerage, baronetage and knightage.
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference CS420 .B85 1970 -
Dictionary of Irish Biography
by
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference CT862 .B69ISBN: 0064906205Publication Date: 1978
-
Modern Irish Lives
by
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference CT862 .M63 1996ISBN: 0312164785Publication Date: 1996 -
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
by
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference DA28 .O95 2004ISBN: 019861411XPublication Date: 2004The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is a collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of men and women who have shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000.
*Click on the title to use the online version of this work. -
Who's who (London)
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference DA28 .W6Our collection starts at 1912 and has spotty coverage up until the late 1940's. More complete coverage starts from 1947 and goes to 2011.
-
Who Was Who (London)
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference DA28 .W65Publication Date: 1897-1916
General History Books (Britain/Ireland)
-
Cambridge Companion to Victorian Culture
by
Call Number: JFK Upper Level Book Stacks DA533 .C36 2010ISBN: 9780521886994Publication Date: 2010 -
Cambridge Historical Encyclopedia of Great Britain and Ireland
by
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference DA34 .C28 1985ISBN: 0521255597Publication Date: 1985
-
Cambridge Social History of Britain, 1750-1950
by
Call Number: JFK Upper Level Book Stacks HN385 .C14 1990ISBN: 0521257883Publication Date: 1990 -
Columbia Companion to British History
by
Call Number: JFK Upper Level Book Stacks DA34 .H64 1997ISBN: 0231107927Publication Date: 1996 -
Encyclopedia of European Social History
by
Call Number: FK Main Level Reference HN373 .E63 2001ISBN: 0684805820Publication Date: 2000The Encyclopedia of European Social History covers all aspects of European social history from the Renaissance to the present. The sixth volume also includes biographies of prominent European figures and a comprehensive index. -
The Encyclopedia of Ireland
by
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Main Level Reference DA906 .E52 2003bISBN: 0300094426Publication Date: 2003 -
Oxford Companion to British History
by
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference DA34 .O93 2002ISBN: 0198605145Publication Date: 2003*An older version of this title is available for check-out: JFK Upper Level Book Stacks DA34 .O93 1997 -
Oxford Companion to Irish History
by
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference DA912 .O94 1998ISBN: 0192116959Publication Date: 1998
Print Reference Books: World Military History
-
Encyclopedia of World War I
by
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: D510 .E53 2005ISBN: 1851094202Publication Date: 2005 -
Encyclopedia of World War II
by
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: D740 .E516 2005ISBN: 1576079996Publication Date: 2004 -
Oxford Companion to the Second World War
by
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference D740 .O94 1995 / JFK Upper Level Book Stacks D740 .O94 1995ISBN: 0192141686Publication Date: 2000 -
World War II in Europe
by
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference D740 .W67 1999ISBN: 0824070291Publication Date: 1998
