Subject Expert
Paul Victor
Contact:
JFK Library
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
509-359-7909
Get Help
- Text Message us! 509-383-8677 (not 24/7)
- 509-359-2263 JFK Library reference desk (Cheney)
Access Electronic Resources from Off-Campus
All of our databases may be accessed from any computer connected to the Internet using your EWU Single Sign-On (SSO) credentials. When you click on the link for one of our electronic resources, an EWU SSO log-in screen will appear. Follow these steps to log-in:
- Click on the red EWU SSO Login button.
- Choose your account (your EWU email address).
- Enter your password.
Having trouble accessing your Single Sign-On Account?
- If you forgot your username or password, then you can go to accounts.ewu.edu to reset them. If you haven't set up your account yet (a new student or employee), then go to accounts.ewu.edu and click on Activate Account to create your password.
- Are you still having trouble with your SSO login? Contact the IT Help Desk at (509) 359-2247.
History (American & World)
- History Databases - America: History & Life with full text and Historical Abstracts with full text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch these two major historical databases simultaneously.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
Environmental Science
- GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals and magazines (along with selected books, pamphlets and government reports) relating to human impacts on the environment.
Ethnic Studies
- African American Experience This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and encyclopedias, as well as primary source documents for the history and culture of the African American community.
- American Indian Experience This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and encyclopedias, as well as hundreds of primary source documents and photographs for the histories and cultures of the Native American peoples.
- Asian American Experience This link opens in a new windowThe Asian American Experience applies a critical lens to the study of U.S. history, exploring the social, political, and economic forces that have shaped the experiences of Asian Americans in distinct historical eras. The database also explores some of the rich and varied experiences of Native Hawaiians and other Pacific Island and indigenous groups. This database offers a rich and diverse variety of primary sources, including images, audio clips, documents, and video, covering multiple dimensions of Asian American history and culture.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, books, magazines and government documents on all aspects of North American indigenous peoples' culture, history, and life. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present. Formerly titled Bibliography of Native North Americans.
- Latino American Experience This link opens in a new windowPrimary and secondary sources,including biographies, on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States.
*Note: For additional resources on American Indians, please see our American Indian Studies research guide.
Health Sciences
- Health/Medicine Databases: CINAHL, MEDLINE & Health Sources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch four health/medicine databases simultaneously: the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, MEDLINE, Health Source Consumer and Health Source Academic.
Legal Collections (Law Reviews, etc.)
- Legal Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from scholarly legal journals and law reviews. Most go back 20 years or less, but a few go back to the mid 1960s, including American Business Law Journal and Journal of Accountancy.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from around 137 law reviews and other relevant legal journals, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
Multidisciplinary (including history)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
Want to learn more about how to use JSTOR? Then look at the JSTOR help guides [https://guides.jstor.org/how-to-use-jstor/searching].