Home - Criminal Justice 490 - Senior Capstone - Research Guides at Eastern Washington University

Finding peer-reviewed articles in Criminal Justice databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Articles from criminal justice magazines and journals, with indexing/abstracting from others.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Database for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Articles from social science & humanities journals, back to 1999. Indexing only for articles older than 1999 & some journals this library does not subscribe to.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Back files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes criminal justice journals, with selected magazines and videos back to the 1970s. Links full-text government reports from the U.S. Dept. of Justice.

Data.gov
- This link opens in a new window
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
Spokane Trends
Portal to economic, education, housing, etc. data for Spokane County. A joint project of: City of Spokane, Community Building Foundation, Eastern Washington University, Greater Spokane Inc., Spokane Regional Health District, and Spokane United Way.

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Statistical arm of the U.S. Department of Justice, compiles data as well as publishes analytical reports, though mainly just down to the state level
Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center
Focus on law enforcement, prosecution/courts and incarceration
National Criminal Justice Reference Center
Presents federally-funded statistical reports and articles compiled by the Office of Justice Programs
Uniform Crime Reports
Federal Bureau of Investigation's compilation of statistical data, including the annual Crime in the United States, a cooperative statistical effort of over 17,000 city, county, and state law enforcement agencies, Hate Crime Statistics, and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics (1994-present; in print GovDoc J29.9/6 1985-present)
Annual compilation of crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government
Crime Stats Online aka Washington Criminal Justice Data Book
Online database to retrieve statistics by county
Washington Criminal Justice Statistical Analysis Center
Portal to data from various state agencies, from the Office of Financial Management
Washington State Inmate and Community Corrections Statistics
Current statistics from the WA Department of Corrections

Writing a literature review - UNC Writing Center
A literature review discusses published information in a particular subject area, and sometimes information in a particular subject area within a certain time period.

Literature Review help worksheet# 1
Literature Review Synthesis Matrix - courtesy of NCSU Tutorial Center
Literature Review help worksheet# 2
Literature review summary sheet - courtesy of Krista Bower Sharpe at WIU Library

Created by North Carolina Univ Libraries