Subject Expert
Paul Victor
Contact:
JFK Library
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
509-359-7909
Selected Encyclopedia & Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and SocietyCall Number: Online accessPublication Date: 2008This three-volume reference addresses the wide range of issues that concern race and ethnicity alongside descriptive entries about racial, ethnic, and nationality groups worldwide. Entries are provided for selected countries, biographies, community and urban issues, concepts and theories, economics and stratification, and education, among other major themes.
Encyclopedia of Race and RacismCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013"Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists."
The Concise Encyclopedia of SociologyCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2010This concise encyclopedia is the most complete international survey of sociology ever created in one volume. It contains over 800 entries from the whole breadth of the disciplines. Each entry includes references and suggestions for further reading Cross-referencing allows easy movement around the volume
SAGE Dictionary of Sociology
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2006"With over 1000 entries on key concepts and theorists, this book provides authoritative, reliable definitions; accessible 'digests' of key arguments; contemporary, and appealing illustrations of points."
American Sociological Association (ASA) Style Guides
- ASA Formatting & StyleProvided by Purdue Online Writing Lab
- Quick Tips for ASA StyleFrom American Sociological Association Style Guide (4th ed., 2010)
- ASA Style CitationsProvided by Trinity University Library
- ASA Style GuideProvided by William Paterson University Library
Citation Managers
- MendeleyFree citation manager with web versions and software you can download to your computer. We recommend using the software, because it is easier to drag and drop citations.
- ZoteroFree citation manager that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, and it connects with your web browser to download sources.
Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.
Quick Links
- EWU Library CatalogSearch for books, videos, and other items located in the EWU Libraries and beyond.
Finding peer-reviewed articles in Sociology databases
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books, and videos in all subjects.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
- Google Scholar - Open Internet database
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar allows you to searches across a wide range of scholarly literature, including articles, books, theses, conference papers, and technical reports. Sources include academic publishers, professional societies, university repositories, and other scholarly websites.
Key Sociology Journals
- Annual Review of SociologyThe Annual Review of Sociology, in publication since 1975, covers the significant developments in the field of sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields.
- American Journal of SociologyFull-text available from 1990 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
- American Sociological ReviewFull-text available from 1936 to present
- British Journal of SociologyFull-text available from 1950 to present
- Global NetworksFull-text available from 2001 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Related guide
- Sociology research guideA comprehensive list of Sociology related resources.
Professor's Recommendations
- Minorities at Risk (MAR)
- This link opens in a new window
A research project that monitors and analyzes the status and conflicts of politically-active communal groups in all countries with a current population of at least 500,000. - United Nations' Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination
- This link opens in a new window
- States parties reports
- This link opens in a new window
- Concluding observations
- This link opens in a new window
- CIA World Factbook
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for countries around the world. - Library of Congress County Studies Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- American Sociological Association (ASA)
- This link opens in a new window
- ASA featured topic: Race and Ethnicity
- This link opens in a new window
- ASA featured topic: Inequality and Stratification
- This link opens in a new window