Subject Expert
Quick Links
- EWU Library CatalogSearch for books, videos, and other items located in the EWU Libraries and beyond.
APA Citation Guides
- Handouts and Guides for the 7th edition APA Publication ManualHandouts can be used in anywhere you are learning or teaching APA Style.
- APA Formatting & Style (7th ed.) - comprehensive guideProvided by Purdue Online Writing Lab
Citation Managers
- MendeleyFree citation manager with web versions and software you can download to your computer. We recommend using the software, because it is easier to drag and drop citations.
- ZoteroFree citation manager that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, and it connects with your web browser to download sources.
Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.
Gather Background Information on HIV/AIDS & Addiction Treatment
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public HealthCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013The Encyclopedia is an authoritative source on public health issues. Topics focus on health crises affecting the public at large. The book features information on transmission, prevention, and the public health aspects of HIV/AIDS.
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2008Addiction; Substance abuse; Social issues; Diseases and conditions; Mental health; 4 volumes
Encyclopedia of Infectious Diseases: Modern MethodologiesCall Number: ONlinePublication Date: 2007An in-depth encyclopedia with a chapter focused on global incidence of HIV/AIDS and the nature and treatment of infectious diseases.
Alcohol, Tobacco and Illicit Drugs by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013This volume focuses on the social and moral issues surrounding alcohol, tobacco, and illicit drugs.
Find Scholarly Articles on HIV/AIDS and Addiction in Discipline-Specific Databases
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) -- 1946-present This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index to all aspects of medicine, covering journals and some titles include full-text.
- PsycInfo - APA (EBSCOhost) -- 1806-present This link opens in a new windowA large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books, and videos in all subjects.
- PubMed -- 1946-present This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to all aspects of medicine back to 1946. Freely available from the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus additional selected biomedical sources. Look for the "Check for Full Text at EWU" button within individual PubMed records. - MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Authoritative but non-technical information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other agencies and health-related organizations.
Additional eBooks
Infectious Diseases: in ContextCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2007Infectious Diseases in Context is a comprehensive guide to the increasingly important topic of emerging and infectious diseases and covers the history, politics, and ethical debate related to infectious diseases.
Atlas of Human Infectious DiseasesCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2012The Atlas provides a practical and visual overview of the current distribution and determinants of major infectious diseases of humans.
Emerging Infectious DiseasesCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2007This source offers a wealth of timely information about a variety of emerging and reemerging infections..
Evidence-Based Infectious DiseasesCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2009An excellent introduction to evidence-based Clinical Practice for the major areas of infectious disease management.
Encyclopedia of Race and RacismCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013"Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists."
Encyclopedia of Sex and GenderCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2007Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level and gives an overview of the history of the AIDS epidemic.
Major Video Resources
- Counseling & Therapy in Video This link opens in a new windowCollection of online videos on lectures, interviews, or demonstrations of counseling sessions related to social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
- Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new windowOn-demand streaming video service with over 10,000 titles, ranging from feature films, television shows, and documentaries. Note: Most of the titles available are not listed in the EWU Library Catalog. If it says "request access," we do not have licensing for that title. Faculty can request access for their classes.
Government Resources and Statistics
- National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA): Publications & Multimedia
- This link opens in a new window
Links to NIAAA resources on alcohol consumption and alcohol-related problems. - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
- This link opens in a new window
- Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC) National Prevention Information Network (NPIN)
- This link opens in a new window
NPIN is the U.S. reference, referral, and distribution service for information on HIV/AIDS, viral hepatitis, sexually transmitted diseases (STDs), and tuberculosis (TB). - HIV.gov
- This link opens in a new window
HIV.gov collaborates with departments and agencies across the Federal government to provide HIV/AIDS-related information to users. - National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
- This link opens in a new window
NIDA supports most of the world’s research on the health aspects of drug abuse and addiction. Good source for researching addiction treatment topics. - Topics: Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
- This link opens in a new window
Links to a variety of topics such as Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drugs, Prevention of Substance Abuse & Mental Illness, as well as Behavioral Health Treatments and Services, etc. - MedlinePlus - Alcoholism and Alcohol Abuse
- This link opens in a new window
A health topic focuses on all aspects of alcoholism including Treatments and Therapies, Statistics and Research, and latest news, etc. - U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
- This link opens in a new window
HHS provides information and resources on substance use disorders and health insurance/Medicaid issues. - Statistical Abstract of the United States 2013-present (ProQuest)The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other federal agencies and private organizations.
- State Reports on Alcohol, Tobacco, and Illegal Drug Use
- This link opens in a new window
Visit SAMHSA’s map of the United States to select your state, region or metro area to find substance abuse and mental health data reports. - HIV/AIDS Statistics Center
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC). Site links to the following United States data: Basic Statistics (Cumulative AIDS Cases); Surveillance Reports; Populations at Risk; and Trends. - National Center for Health Statistics
- This link opens in a new window
- Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC) Viral HepatitisAn informational website explaining the different types of hepatitis, resources available, and state and local partners available for treating the disease.
- SAMHSA Behavioral Health Treatment Services LocatorA searchable directory of mental health services in the United States.
Other Useful Web Resources
- Addiction Treatment Forum - Addiction Resources
- This link opens in a new window
The Addiction Treatment Forum educational program was developed in the early 1990s to address the concerns of patients and professionals working in the addiction treatment field during the heroin epidemic that faced our nation. - National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program (NAHDAP)
- This link opens in a new window
"NAHDAP acquires, preserves and disseminates data relevant to drug addiction and HIV research." - UN AIDS Data and Data Tools
- This link opens in a new window
Contains links to epidemiological data and reports regarding HIV/AIDS on a global level. - The Association for Addiction Professionals (NAADAC)
- This link opens in a new window
NAADAC is the largest membership organization serving addiction counselors, educators and other addiction-focused health care professionals who specialize in addiction prevention, treatment and education. - Division on Addictions - Cambridge Health Alliance - Harvard Medical
- This link opens in a new window
The mission of the Division on Addiction is to alleviate addiction-related social, medical, and economic burdens through research, education, training, and outreach. - Drug Abuse and Addiction: Understanding the Signs, Symptoms, and Effects
- This link opens in a new window
- Principles of Drug Abuse Treatment for Criminal Justice Populations - A Research-Based Guide
- This link opens in a new window