The Encyclopedia is an authoritative source on public health issues. Topics focus on health crises affecting the public at large. The book features information on transmission, prevention, and the public health aspects of HIV/AIDS.
Database for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.
A large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
Comprehensive index to all aspects of medicine back to 1946. Freely available from the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus additional selected biomedical sources. Look for the "Check for Full Text at EWU" button within individual PubMed records.
Authoritative but non-technical information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other agencies and health-related organizations.
Pre-formulated MEDLINE searches are included to access journal articles. Also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and the latest health news.
On-demand streaming video service with over 10,000 titles, ranging from feature films, television shows, and documentaries. Note: Most of the titles available are not listed in the EWU Library Catalog. If it says "request access," we do not have licensing for that title. Faculty can request access for their classes.
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other federal agencies and private organizations.
Interactive NSDUH (National Survey on Drug Use and Health) State Estimates (or Small Area Estimates (SAES) allows users to review historic NSDUH Small Area Estimates, create US maps and trend graphs, and download data in CSV format.
Infectious Diseases in Context is a comprehensive guide to the increasingly important topic of emerging and infectious diseases and covers the history, politics, and ethical debate related to infectious diseases.
"Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists."
The Addiction Treatment Forum educational program was developed in the early 1990s to address the concerns of patients and professionals working in the addiction treatment field during the heroin epidemic that faced our nation.
NAADAC is the largest membership organization serving addiction counselors, educators and other addiction-focused health care professionals who specialize in addiction prevention, treatment and education.