21st Century Criminology: A Reference Handbook provides straightforward and definitive overviews of 100 key topics comprising traditional criminology and its modern outgrowths. The individual chapters have been designed to serve as a "first-look" reference source for most criminological inquires.
"This Encyclopedia includes A to Z entries that explore the scope of ethical decision making and behaviors within the spheres of criminal justice systems, including policing, corrections, courts, forensic science, and policy analysis and research."
"Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists."
Police Brutality, Racial Profiling, and Discrimination in the Criminal Justice System is an authoritative reference source for the latest scholarly material on social problems involving victimization of minorities and police accountability.
A large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
Database for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.
Access to tables of statistics on the U.S. and around the world, gathered from US federal agencies and other national and international organizations. To delve deeper into national or international statistics, choose from the Statistical Abstracts links on the far left.
Sources are at the bottom of each table, so if you cannot find exactly the information sought, at least you should be able to find out what agency will collect statistics on that particular issue.
Federal Bureau of Investigation's compilation of statistical data, including the annual Crime in the United States, a cooperative statistical effort of over 17,000 city, county, and state law enforcement agencies, Hate Crime Statistics, and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted
Combines a search engine for comprehensive national and international crime statistics with original research data from two separate programs focused on homicide and on human development in the Chicago area
A public service organization centered at Syracuse University that requests, compiles, and analyzes federal data on the activities of five major federal law enforcement agencies: the FBI, the IRS, the DEA, the ATF, and the Dept. of Homeland Security