A digital library of over 120,000 resources on theology and religion. It consists mainly of public domain books and also includes periodicals, audio recordings, photographs, manuscript collections, and other formats.
The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.
Scholarly encyclopedias and reference works on a wide variety of topics: business, ASCD publications in education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, sciences, and the social sciences. Formerly named Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL).
On-demand streaming video service with over 10,000 titles, ranging from feature films, television shows, and documentaries. Note: Most of the titles available are not listed in the EWU Library Catalog. If it says "request access," we do not have licensing for that title. Faculty can request access for their classes.
Collection of the statistics from many countries, generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments. Global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations are included.
Oxford University Press (OUP) titles, and University of California Press (UC) titles published in the current year with permanent access rights for EWU users. New publishers added this year include University of Chicago Press, Princeton University Press, and MIT Press. An additional 16,000 back listed titles also accessible. All titles DRM-free. Subjects cover the humanities, social sciences, science, and medicine. Available through the Orbis Cascade Alliance.
Note: filter your results on the left side of screen to view accessible, unlocked, titles; OUP and UC press books are accessible to EWU users through this service.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Main Level Reference BL31 .H37 1995
Publication Date: 1995-10-01
This dictionary contains articles written by 250 leading experts. They reflect cutting-edge research and scholarship, bringing to readers the people, places, concepts, practices and writings of the many religions of the world.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks BL41 .R685 2010
Publication Date: 2009-10-20
It begins by explaining the most important methodological approaches to religion, including psychology, philosophy, anthropology and comparative study, before moving on to explore a wide variety of critical issues.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Main Level Reference BS440 .A54 1992
Publication Date: 1998-12-01
Six years in the making, this state-of-the-art dictionary offers the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and scholarship. An essential reference for every serious reader of the Bible. B & W illustrations and line-art throughout.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Main Level Reference BX841 .N44 2003
Publication Date: 2002-09-13
The first edition of this reference work, called the Catholic Encyclopedia, was published around the turn of the 20th century, with the last revised edition appearing in 1967. This new edition includes the best of the previous entries - many completely revised and updated - as well as new entries, written by subject experts, covering the latest topics of interest. Many thousands of articles are biographical profiles of the people who make up the history of the Catholic Church.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks BL1410 .C58
Publication Date: 1959-07-30
A volume of key writings on the Buddha, collected from a variety of languages and traditions While Buddhism has no central text comparable to the Bible or Koran, there is a powerful body of scripture from across Asia that encompasses the dharma, or the teachings of the Buddha.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks BS185 1945 .N5
Publication Date: 1945
Authorized version, with a new system of connected topical references to all the greater themes of Scripture, with annotations, revised marginal renderings, summaries, definitions, chronology, and index ; to which are added helps at hard places, explanations of seeming discrepancies, and a new system of paragraphs
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Main Level Reference BL31 .E46 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
This is an indispensable resource for any school with a department or programme in religious studies. Additionally, articles support the curriculum and general research in history, gender studies, language and literature, music, the visual arts, history, politics, ecology, health and medicine, law, sociology and anthropology. Three Colour inserts serve as pictorial essays illuminating themes such as pilgrimage, prayer, healing, and how these concepts are displayed in various religions throughout the world. Illustrations go beyond the typical stock imagery and present images of authentic value not readily available elsewhere.
Call Number: Online Access via Gale Virtual Reference Library (ebook collection)
Publication Date: 2004-04-01
This encyclopedia is a historically focused work that provides an introduction to the doctrinal, ethical, social and spiritual ideas that inform the various traditions of Buddhism and the changes they have undergone over more that 2500 years.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks E184.A1 O95 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-02
Thirty-four scholars from thefields of History, Religious Studies, Sociology, Anthropology, and more investigate the complex interdependencies of religion and race from pre-Columbian origins to the present. The volume addresses the religious experience, social realities, theologies, and sociologies of racialized groups inAmerican religious history, as well as the ways that religious myths, institutions, and practices contributed to their racialization.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks BT708 .O94 2015
Publication Date: 2014-12-30
The Oxford Handbook of Theology, Sexuality, and Gender presents an unrivalled overview of the theological study of sexuality and gender. These topics are not merely contentious and pervasive: they have escalated in importance within theology. Theologians increasingly agree that even the very doctrine of God cannot be contemplated without a prior grappling with each.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks BL2747.3 .O94 2013
Publication Date: 2014-01-21
Recent books by, among others, Sam Harris, Richard Dawkins, and Christopher Hitchens have thrust atheism firmly into the popular, media, and academic spotlight. This so-called New Atheism is arguably the most striking development in western socio-religious culture of the past decade or more. As such, it has spurred fertile (and often heated) discussions both within, and between, a diverse range of disciplines. Yet atheism, and the New Atheism, are by no means co-extensive. Interesting though it indeed is, the New Atheism is a single, historically and culturally specific manifestation of positive atheism (the that there is/are no God/s), which is itself but one form of a far deeper, broader, and more significant global phenomenon.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks BL65.P4 O94 2015
Publication Date: 2015-03-02
The contributors engage deeply with the legacies of colonialism, missionary activism, secularism,orientalism, and liberalism as they relate to the discussion of religion, violence, and nonviolent transformation and resistance.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks BL41 .O94 2008
Publication Date: 2008-01-02
In this book, scholars engaged in cutting edge research on religion and emotion describe the ways in which emotions have played a role in Buddhism, Christianity, Judaism, Islam, and other religions. They analyze the manner in which key components of religious life ritual, music, gender, sexuality and material culture represent and shape emotional performance.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Main Level Circulation Desk Reserve
Publication Date: 2015-01-09
This volume provides a working introduction to the scholarly study of Jewish and Christian sacred texts. Included are thorough explanations of 5 general methods and 8 chapters covering specialized methods. Readers are presented with step-by-step "how to" guides for each, and exercises to test their skills. Co-authored by EWU Professor Garrett Kenney.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks BP605.N48 P55 2004
Publication Date: 2004-07-07
The book provides a general introduction to the varieties of New Age and Neopagan religions in the United States today as well as an account of their nineteenth-century roots and emergence from the 1960s counterculture. Covering such topics as healing, gender and sexuality, millennialism, and ritual experience, it also furnishes a rich description and analysis of the spiritual worlds and social networks created by participants.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks BL71.5 .D74 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Study after study has shown a steady decline in affiliation and identification with traditional religions in America. By 2014, more than twenty percent of adults identified as unaffiliated - up more than seven percent just since 2007. More than thirty percent of those under the age of thirty now identify as "Nones" - answering "none" when queried about their religious affiliation.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks BM157 .P47 2004
Publication Date: 2004-09-05
In this updated edition, he lays out the similarities and differences of the three religious siblings with great clarity and succinctness and with that same remarkable objectivity that is the hallmark of all the author's work. Peters traces the three faiths from the sixth century B.C., when the Jews returned to Palestine from exile in Babylonia, to the time in the Middle Ages when they approached their present form. He points out that all three faith groups, whom the Muslims themselves refer to as "People of the Book," share much common ground. Most notably, each embraces the practice of worshipping a God who intervenes in history on behalf of His people. The book's text is direct and accessible with thorough and nuanced discussions of each of the three religions. Updated footnotes provide the reader with expert guidance into the highly complex issues that lie between every line of this stunning and timely new edition of The Children of Abraham. ?
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks BL2220 .L58 2002
Publication Date: 2002-05-02
In Japan, two religions predominate--Buddhism and Shintoism--and the Japanese people see no contradiction in practicing both: worshipping Buddha even as they revere the kami, the divine beings that populate the country and define the indigenous faith of Shintoism.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks BR563.N4 L55 1990
Publication Date: 1990-11-01
Black churches in America have long been recognized as the most independent, stable, and dominant institutions in black communities. In The Black Church in the African American Experience, based on a ten-year study, is the largest nongovernmental study of urban and rural churches ever undertaken and the first major field study on the subject since the 1930s.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks BP50 .O95 1999
Publication Date: 2000-04-06
Lavishly illustrated with over 300 pictures, including more than 200 in full color, The Oxford History of Islam offers the most wide-ranging and authoritative account available of the second largest--and fastest growing--religion in the world.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks BR563.M49 M49 2008
Publication Date: 2008-07-08
This collection presents a rich, multidisciplinary inquiry into the role of religion in the Mexican American community. Breaking new ground by analyzing the influence of religion on Mexican American literature, art, activism, and popular culture, it makes the case for the establishment of Mexican American religious studies as a distinct, recognized field of scholarly inquiry. Scholars of religion, Latin American, and Chicano/a studies as well as of sociology, anthropology, and literary and performance studies, address several broad themes.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks BT83.63 .C65 2017
Publication Date: 2017-02-02
This Companion to Public Theology brings a much-needed resource to this relatively new field. The essays contained here bring a robust and relevant faith perspective to a wide range of issues as well as foundational biblical and theological perspectives which equip theologians to enter into public dialogue. Public theology has never been more needed in public discourse, whether local or global. In conversation across disciplines its contribution to the construction of just policies is apparent in this volume, as scholars examine the areas of political, social and economic spheres as well as issues of ethics and civil societies, and draw on contexts from six continents.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks BV600.3 .W546 2014
Publication Date: 2014-07-23
In this simple, beautifully written book Rowan Williams explores four essential components of the Christian life: baptism, Bible, Eucharist, and prayer. Despite huge differences in Christian thinking and practice both today and in past centuries, he says, these four basic elements have remained constant and indispensable for the majority of those who call themselves Christians.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks BT695.5 .M64 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
From Genesis to Revelation, the Bible reveals a God whose creative power and loving care embrace all that exists, from earth and sky and sea to every creeping, crawling, swimming, and flying creature. This invites readers into a joyful vision of the world as God's creation in which they can rediscover who they truly are as creatures called to love and serve the Creator and to delight in all he has made.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks BL2525 .C73 2017
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Virtually everyone supports religious liberty, and virtually everyone opposes discrimination. But how do we handle the hard questions that arise when exercises of religious liberty seem to discriminate unjustly? How do we promote the common good while respecting conscience in a diversesociety?This point-counterpoint book brings together leading voices in the culture wars to debate such questions.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks BL51 .S34 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-26
An ambitious young scholar's lucid analysis of religion's shifting place in the modern world Western intellectuals have long theorized that religion would undergo a process of marginalization and decline as the forces of modernity advanced. Yet recent events have disrupted this seductively straightforward story. As a result, while it is clear that religion has somehow evolved from its tribal beginnings up through modernity and into the current global age, there is no consensus about what kind of narrative of religious change we should alternatively tell.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Main Level New Books B821 .J86 2019
Publication Date: 2019-08-09
Human beings have to relate themselves to the entirety of their lives to achieve orientation. This relation involves a non-methodical, meaningful experience that exhibits the crucial features for understanding worldviews: it comprises cognition, volition, and emotion, is embodied, action-oriented, and expressive.
Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks BL1853 .S84 2013
Publication Date: 2013-04-21
Is Confucianism a religion? If so, why do most Chinese think it isn't? From ancient Confucian temples, to nineteenth-century archives, to the testimony of people interviewed by the author throughout China over a period of more than a decade, this book traces the birth and growth of the idea of Confucianism as a world religion.
Call Number: Online Access via EBSCOhost ebooks and audiobooks
Publication Date: 1998-12-23
Addressing religion and feminism on a global scale, this unprecedented book contains a nuanced and fine-tuned treatment of seven of the world's religions from a feminist perspective by leading women scholars. Feminism and World Religions contains chapters on Hinduism by Vasudha Narayanan, Buddhism by Rita M. Gross, Confucianism by Terry Woo, Taoism by Karen McLaughlin and Eva Wong, Judaism by Ellen M. Umansky, Christianity by Rosemary Radford Ruether, and Islam by Riffat Hassan, along with a general introduction and a postscript by Katherine K. Young and a preface by Arvind Sharma. The fact that these authors share a dual but undivided commitment both to themselves as women and to their traditions as adherents imparts to their voices a prophetic quality, and if Mahatma Gandhi is to be believed, even scriptural value.
Call Number: Online Access via Oxford University Press Ebooks
Publication Date: 2011-12-07
The relationship between religion and human rights is both complex and inextricable. While most of the world's religions have supported violence, repression, and prejudice, each has also played a crucial role in the modern struggle for universal human rights. Most importantly, religions provide the essential sources and scales of dignity and responsibility, shame and respect, restraint and regret, restitution and reconciliation that a human rights regime needs to survive and flourish in any culture. With contributions by a score of leading experts, Religion and Human Rights provides authoritative and accessible assessments of the contributions of Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Confucianism, Buddhism, and Indigenous religions to the development of the ideas and institutions of human rights.
Call Number: Online Access via EBSCOhost ebooks and audiobooks
Publication Date: 1994-02-07
Van der Veer's central focus is the lengthy dispute over the Babari mosque in Ayodhya, site of a bloody confrontation between Hindus and Muslims in December 1992. Van der Veer offers a new perspective on the importance of religious organization and the role of ritual in the formation of nationalism. His work advances our understanding of contemporary India while also offering significant theoretical insights into one of the most troubling issues of this century.
Zen Buddhism is often said to be a practice of mind-to-mind transmission without reliance on texts --in fact, some great teachers forbid their students to read or write. But Buddhism has also inspired some of the greatest philosophical writings of any religion, and two such works lie at the center of Zen: The Heart Sutra, which monks recite all over the world, and The Diamond Sutra, said to contain answers to all questions of delusion and dualism. This is the Buddhist teaching on the perfection of wisdom and cuts through all obstacles on the path of practice.
'The Qur'an, believed by Muslims to be the word of God, was revealed to the Prophet Muhammad 1400 years ago. It is the supreme authority in Islam and the living source of all Islamic teaching; it is a sacred text and a book of guidance, that sets out the creed, rituals, ethics, and laws of the Islamic religion. It has been one of the most influential books in the history of literature.
In its most general sense, the term "Spiritual but Not Religious" denotes those who, on the one hand, are disillusioned with traditional institutional religion and, on the other hand, feel that those same traditions contain deep wisdom about the human condition. This edited collection speaks to what national surveys agree is a growing social phenomenon referred to as the "Spiritual but Not Religious Movement" (SBNRM).
Articles from scholars in the fields of theology (biblical, historical, ethical and constructive) and in other types of religious studies (literary, social, psychological and philosophical) for a wide readership in religious studies.
Peer reviewed coverage of Buddhism and Christianity and their historical and contemporary interrelationships. Includes sections on comparative methodology & historical comparisions. The official journal of the Society for Buddhist-Christian Studies.