Subject Expert
Paul Victor
Contact:
JFK Library
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
509-359-7909
Literary & Performing Arts Databases Persona Assignment
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) -- 1923-present This link opens in a new window Comprehensive database for literature and languages, plus folklore, drama and rhetoric. Indexes over 5,000 journals, plus books and dissertations.
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new window Searches across several Gale literary databases, including Literature Criticism, Gale eBooks - Biography & Literature collections, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Something About the Author (biographical and critical information on children's and YA authors). Formerly named Gale Literary Sources, Artemis Literary.
Access Electronic Resources from Off-Campus
All of our databases may be accessed from any computer connected to the Internet using your EWU Single Sign-On (SSO) credentials. When you click on the link for one of our electronic resources, an EWU SSO log-in screen will appear. Follow these steps to log-in:
- Click on the red EWU SSO Login button.
- Choose your account (your EWU email address).
- Enter your password.
Having trouble accessing your Single Sign-On Account?
- If you forgot your username or password, then you can go to accounts.ewu.edu to reset them. If you haven't set up your account yet (a new student or employee), then go to accounts.ewu.edu and click on Activate Account to create your password.
- Are you still having trouble with your SSO login? Contact the IT Help Desk at (509) 359-2247.
General Database Collections
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books, and videos in all subjects.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
Business/Economics
- Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from periodicals (including peer-reviewed journals) on all aspects of business. Contains books, plus reports, papers and company profiles. Selected titles go back as far as 1886, but most begin in the 1990s.
- EconLit (EBSCOhost) -- 1969-present This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles on economics issues from journals and magazines, dissertations, books and working papers.
- JSTOR - Economics This link opens in a new windowAccess to scholarly economics journals through JSTOR which is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, and primary sources.
Education
- Education Databases: Education Research Complete & ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSimultaneous search option for the two most comprehensive education databases.
Health Sciences
- Health/Medicine Databases: CINAHL, MEDLINE & Health Sources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch four health/medicine databases simultaneously: the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, MEDLINE, Health Source Consumer and Health Source Academic.
Humanities & Social Sciences Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from social science & humanities journals, back to 1999. Indexing only for articles older than 1999 & some journals this library does not subscribe to.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals that are mainly scientific and medical back to 1997 with indexing for additional journals, books, and protocols. Includes ebooks in the field of education.
Law/Criminal Justice
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from criminal justice magazines and journals, with indexing/abstracting from others.
- Legal Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from scholarly legal journals and law reviews. Most go back 20 years or less, but a few go back to the mid 1960s, including American Business Law Journal and Journal of Accountancy.
- NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes criminal justice journals, with selected magazines and videos back to the 1970s. Links full-text government reports from the U.S. Dept. of Justice.
Literature/English
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) -- 1923-present This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database for literature and languages, plus folklore, drama and rhetoric. Indexes over 5,000 journals, plus books and dissertations.
Philosophy/Ethics
- Philosopher's Index with Full Text (EBSCOhost) -- 1940-present This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database for philosophy, indexing journals, books and anthologies going back as far as 1940.
Psychology
- JSTOR - Psychology This link opens in a new windowAccess to scholarly psychology journals through JSTOR which is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, and primary sources.
- PsycArticles - APA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from all American Psychological Association journals. Coverage back to the first issue of each journal, for example Psychological Review goes back to 1894.
- PsycInfo - APA (EBSCOhost) -- 1806-present This link opens in a new windowA large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
Sciences
- GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals and magazines (along with selected books, pamphlets and government reports) relating to human impacts on the environment.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals that are mainly scientific and medical back to 1997 with indexing for additional journals, books, and protocols. Includes ebooks in the field of education.
- Wiley Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to journals published by John Wiley & Sons, back to 1997. The database includes citations for additional titles, as well citations for articles older than 1997.
Sociology
- JSTOR - Sociology This link opens in a new windowAccess to scholarly sociology journals through JSTOR which is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, and primary sources.
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.
