Books, Videos, CDs

Having problems requesting items via Summit? Please contact the JFK Circulation Department at 509.359.7888, or circulation@ewu.edu, or in person on the Main Level.

The EWU Library Catalog gives you access to all the library's books, videos, CDs, government publications, as well as articles on all subjects.

What’s in the catalog?

• All of EWU’s physical holdings, including books, videos, CDs, government documents, and more.
• All the physical holdings of all the Summit Libraries—over 9 million titles!
• Citations for millions of articles.

How do I search the catalog? | How do I locate an item? | I can't find the specific book or video I want. | How can I get more help?

How do I search the catalog?

If you don't have a particular item in mind, type in your keywords as you would in Google, as a string of words.

• Put exact phrases in quotes, e.g. "college students"
• To find variations on a word, type the stem of the word followed by *, e.g. success* to find success, successful, etc.
• If you want to look for either word/phrase, the Boolean operator OR must be in ALLCAPS and in parentheses, e.g. (STEM OR science*).

Know the title or author?

If you know the exact title of the item, type in the title "in quotes" and the last name of the author (if known).

Or

Click Browse in the top bar and type in the title and/or author. (Note: The Browse function only works for EWU holdings of books or videos, not for titles held by other libraries.)

Refining Your Search

Because the EWU Library Catalog has records for all types of resources, you will very likely need to limit your search results. Note all the limiters on the left side, as well as some quick limiters at the top.

• Click on the limiter to narrow by the one limiter.
• You can narrow to more than one in the category by clicking the corresponding boxes on the left of the limiter (such as limiting by Format to both Print Books and eBooks). Just hover over the limiter to see the box.
• You can exclude particular limiters by clicking the icon on the right of the limiter. Just hover over the limiter to see this icon.   

Useful limiters:

• Availability -- Available in the Library -- this will quickly show you the books and videos we have on the shelves in the library
• Availability -- Full Text Online -- this will limit to the articles and eBooks available
• Format -- limit to books, audio visual (for DVDs, CDs, etc.)
• Date -- click on the From/To dates to update, and click Refine
• Physical Location -- easiest way to limit to a particular collection, such as the Curriculum Center or Reference
• Subject Terms -- because the subject terms given to articles and books are can be different, it is best to narrow by Format first, then Subject Term.

Mark Your Records

See the push pin icon on the far right (labeled "Keep this item" if you hover over it)? 

Click it and it will change the push pin icon and highlight the brief record yellow. You have marked a record temporarily. Click the push pin icon in the top right corner to view your marked records.

• Note: To permanently mark a record, you need to be logged in. Click the Sign In tab in the top right corner.

How do I locate an item?

The last line of the brief record describes where the item is located.

If the wording is green, that means it is readily available, either online or physically on our shelves at the JFK Library in Cheney or Spokane Academic Library.

• For physical items, note the location: floor and call number. 
• For online items: click the green wording (Full text available, Online access, etc.) to link out to the item. 

If the wording is yellow, that means you'll have to request it. Click Check request options - held by Summit libraries. You must be logged in to request the item -- you'll be prompted to if you aren't already.

Once you are logged in, click the link Place Summit request (4-8 days). The form will ask you:

• Volume number (optional) -- only matters if it is a multi-volume set and you only want one volume
• Pick up/delivery location (required) -- which library do you want the item delivered to -- the default is Cheney
• Comment (optional)

Click REQUEST. You will be notified via your EWU email address when the item is ready to be picked up. 

If the wording is gray, that means either:

• The EWU copy of the item is checked out. You will have to request it from a Summit library, or via Interlibrary Loan if there is no other copy in Summit.
• The article is not available online. It may be in a physical copy of the source (and it will display the date range held and call number), or you will have to request it via Interlibrary Loan.

I can't find the specific book or video I want.

While the EWU Library Catalog has millions of records, it only will search through the holdings of the 39 Summit libraries. If you can't find a specific book, video, CD, etc., then go to the EWU WorldCat Catalog and re-do your search. WorldCat has records from thousands of libraries worldwide. You may request the item via Interlibrary Loan.

How can I get more help?

Please contact a reference librarian through our Ask a Librarian chat or send us an email.

The EWU Library primarily* uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize its physical collections into subject areas. You can use the LCC system to identify in general where books in a subject area might be located. The best way to locate a specific book, however, is to search the Library Catalog. Visit the JFK Library Reference Desk or use the Ask a Librarian service for assistance locating materials in the EWU Library collection.

The outline below gives an overview of the LCC system. For additional information about the LCC system, visit the Library of Congress website.

*The Curriculum Center, Federal Government Documents, and some additional areas use other organizational schemes.

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION OUTLINE

A - GENERAL WORKS
AC Collections. Series. Collected works
AE Encyclopedias
AG Dictionaries and other general reference works
AI Indexes
AM Museums. Collectors and collecting
AN Newspapers
AP Periodicals
AS Academies and learned societies
AY Yearbooks. Almanacs. Directories
AZ History of scholarship and learning. The humanities

B - PHILOSOPHY. PSYCHOLOGY. RELIGION
B Philosophy (General)
BC Logic
BD Speculative philosophy
BF Psychology
BH Aesthetics
BJ Ethics
BL Religions. Mythology. Rationalism
BM Judaism
BP Islam. Bahaism. Theosophy, etc.
BQ Buddhism
BR Christianity
BS The Bible
BT Doctrinal Theology
BV Practical Theology
BX Christian Denominations

C - AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY
C Auxiliary Sciences of History (General)
CB History of Civilization
CC Archaeology
CD Diplomatics. Archives. Seals
CE Technical Chronology. Calendar
CJ Numismatics
CN Inscriptions. Epigraphy
CR Heraldry
CS Genealogy
CT Biography

D - WORLD HISTORY AND HISTORY OF EUROPE, ASIA, AFRICA, AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND, ETC.
D History (General)
DA Great Britain
DAW Central Europe
DB Austria - Liechtenstein - Hungary - Czechoslovakia
DC France - Andorra - Monaco
DD Germany
DE Greco-Roman World
DF Greece
DG Italy - Malta
DH Low Countries - Benelux Countries
DJ Netherlands (Holland)
DJK Eastern Europe (General)
DK Russia. Soviet Union. Former Soviet Republics - Poland
DL Northern Europe. Scandinavia
DP Spain - Portugal
DQ Switzerland
DR Balkan Peninsula
DS Asia
DT Africa
DU Oceania (South Seas)
DX Romanies

E-F - HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS
E11-143 America
    E51-99 Indians of North America
    E151-909 United States
    E186-199 Colonial History
    E201-298 Revolution
    E301-453 1776 to 1865
    E740-    Twentieth Century
F1-975 United States Local History
    F730-749 Montana/Idaho History
    F850-899 Pacific Northwest History
    F890-899 Washington State History
F1001-1145.2 British America (including Canada). Dutch America
F1170 French America
F1201-3799 Latin America. Spanish America

G - GEOGRAPHY. ANTHROPOLOGY. RECREATION
G Geography (General). Atlases. Maps
GA Mathematical geography. Cartography
GB Physical geography
GC Oceanography
GE Environmental Sciences
GF Human ecology. Anthropogeography
GN Anthropology
GR Folklore
GT Manners and customs (General)
GV Recreation. Leisure

H - SOCIAL SCIENCES
H Social sciences (General)
HA Statistics
HB Economic theory. Demography
HC Economic history and conditions
HD Industries. Land use. Labor
HE Transportation and communications
HF Commerce
HG Finance
HJ Public finance
HM Sociology (General)
HN Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform
HQ The family. Marriage. Women
HS Societies: secret, benevolent, etc.
HT Communities. Classes. Races
HV Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology
HX Socialism. Communism. Anarchism

J - POLITICAL SCIENCE
J General legislative and executive papers
JA Political science (General)
JC Political theory
JF Political institutions and public administration
JJ Political institutions and public administration (North America)
JK Political institutions and public administration (United States)
JL Political institutions and public administration (Canada, Latin America, etc.)
JN Political institutions and public administration (Europe)
JQ Political institutions and public administration (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific Area, etc.)
JS Local government. Municipal government
JV Colonies and colonization. Emigration and immigration. International migration
JX International law, see JZ and KZ
JZ International relations

K - LAW
K Law in general. Comparative and uniform law. Jurisprudence
KB Religious law in general. Comparative religious law. Jurisprudence
KBM Jewish law
KBP Islamic law
KBR History of canon law
KBU Law of the Roman Catholic Church. The Holy See
KD-KDK United Kingdom and Ireland
KDZ America. North America
KE Canada
KF United States
KG Latin America - Mexico and Central America - West Indies. Caribbean area
KH South America
KJ-KKZ Europe
KL-KWX Asia and Eurasia, Africa, Pacific Area, and Antarctica
KZ Law of nations

L - EDUCATION
L Education (General)
LA History of education
LB Theory and practice of education
LC Special aspects of education
LD Individual institutions - United States
LE Individual institutions - America (except United States)
LF Individual institutions - Europe
LG Individual institutions - Asia, Africa, Indian Ocean islands, Australia, New Zealand, Pacific islands
LH College and school magazines and papers
LJ Student fraternities and societies, United States
LT Textbooks

M - MUSIC
M Music
M5-1459 Instrumental Music
M1495-2199 Vocal Music
ML Literature on music
MT Instruction and study

N - FINE ARTS
N Visual arts
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing. Design. Illustration
ND Painting
NE Print media
NK Decorative arts
NX Arts in general

P - LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE
P Philology. Linguistics
PA Greek language and literature. Latin language and literature
PB Modern languages. Celtic languages
PC Romance languages
PD Germanic languages. Scandinavian languages
PE English language
PF West Germanic languages
PG Slavic languages. Baltic languages. Albanian language
PH Uralic languages. Basque language
PJ Oriental languages and literatures
PK Indo-Iranian languages and literatures
PL Languages and literatures of Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceania
PM Hyperborean, Indian, and artificial languages
PN Literature (General)
PQ French literature - Italian literature - Spanish literature - Portuguese literature
PR English literature
PS American literature
PT German literature - Dutch literature - Flemish literature since 1830 - Afrikaans literature - Scandinavian literature - Old Norse literature: Old Icelandic and Old Norwegian - Modern Icelandic literature - Faroese literature - Danish literature - Norwegian literature - Swedish literature
PZ Fiction and juvenile belles lettres

Q - SCIENCE
Q Science (General)
QA Mathematics
QB Astronomy
QC Physics
QD Chemistry
QE Geology
QH Natural history - Biology
QK Botany
QL Zoology
QM Human anatomy
QP Physiology
QR Microbiology

R - MEDICINE
R Medicine (General)
RA Public aspects of medicine
RB Pathology
RC Internal medicine
RD Surgery
RE Ophthalmology
RF Otorhinolaryngology
RG Gynecology and obstetrics
RJ Pediatrics
RK Dentistry
RL Dermatology
RM Therapeutics. Pharmacology
RS Pharmacy and materia medica
RT Nursing
RV Botanic, Thomsonian, and eclectic medicine
RX Homeopathy
RZ Other systems of medicine

S - AGRICULTURE
S Agriculture (General)
SB Plant culture
SD Forestry
SF Animal culture
SH Aquaculture. Fisheries. Angling
SK Hunting sports

T - TECHNOLOGY
T Technology (General)
TA Engineering (General). Civil engineering
TC Hydraulic engineering. Ocean engineering
TD Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering
TE Highway engineering. Roads and pavements
TF Railroad engineering and operation
TG Bridge engineering
TH Building construction
TJ Mechanical engineering and machinery
TK Electrical engineering. Electronics. Nuclear engineering
TL Motor vehicles. Aeronautics. Astronautics
TN Mining engineering. Metallurgy
TP Chemical technology
TR Photography
TS Manufactures
TT Handicrafts. Arts and crafts
TX Home economics

U - MILITARY SCIENCE
For military history, see D-F
U Military science (General)
UA Armies: Organization, distribution, military situation
UB Military administration
UC Maintenance and transportation
UD Infantry
UE Cavalry. Armor
UF Artillery
UG Military engineering. Air forces
UH Other services

V - NAVAL SCIENCE
For naval history, see D-F
V Naval science (General)
VA Navies: Organization, distribution, naval situation
VB Naval administration
VC Naval maintenance
VD Naval seamen
VE Marines
VF Naval ordnance
VG Minor services of navies
VK Navigation. Merchant marine
VM Naval architecture. Shipbuilding. Marine engineering

Z - BIBLIOGRAPHY. LIBRARY SCIENCE. INFORMATION RESOURCES (GENERAL)
Z Books (General). Writing. Paleography. Book industries and trade. Libraries. Bibliography
ZA Information resources (General)