Get Help
- Text Message us! 509-383-8677 (not 24/7)
- 509-359-2263 JFK Library reference desk (Cheney)
Ask a Librarian Chat (24/7)
Have a question for the EWU Libraries? Please let us know by using the message box above!
APA 7th Edition Handbook
The Concise APA HandbookCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2021The guidebook explains the basics of APA in simple, easy-to-understand language and provides the information about the concept of plagiarism, how to find sources and evaluate the sources, as well as use sources in effective ways.
Core Social Work Journals
Librarian
JFK LIbrary Tour
The John F. Kennedy Library is located on EWU's Cheney Campus. You can get to know the Library through the virtual tour video below, or by checking out the library's floor maps.
Please use 1.25x or 1.5x speed to play the Video of JFK Library Tour.
Interactive Tutorial - Library Online Orientation
All new students in Social Work program are encouraged to complete this online orientation. So, in order to access the online orientation, please use the link below to log into your EWU account by typing your ewu email first.
Interactive Online Library Orientation for Social Work Students
Remote Access to Library Resources
You can browse the library website and search the library catalog 24/7. However, accessing databases, e-books and e-journal content from off-campus requires your EWU username and password. Be sure to check out the following links:
Access Databases from Off-Campus (NetID username/password)
Help with Finding & Requesting Books
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) borrows materials for you from other libraries. ILL services are available to EWU students, faculty and staff.
Finding Books & E-Books via Library Catalog
- EWU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for books, videos, articles and more at EWU Libraries, Summit Libraries and beyond. While not required, if you want the full functionality (save or request items, etc.), please sign in with your NetID.
Encyclopedia of Social Work - major reference tool for social work
- Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia of Social Work is a continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press. It includes over 800 articles that cover every facet of social work policy and practice, brief biographies of over 200 key figures in social work history, and references and links to related social work resources. Encyclopedia of Social Work is regularly updated with new and revised articles.
Featured Social Work Databases
- A-Z Social Work DatabasesFind the best library databases for social work research. Includes 'best bets' and helpful descriptions of each database's content.
- Social Work Abstracts (EBSCOhost) -- 1965-present This link opens in a new windowSelectively indexes journals for articles relating to social work and human services.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books, and videos in all subjects.
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.
- PsycInfo - APA (EBSCOhost) -- 1806-present This link opens in a new windowA large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
- Counseling & Therapy in Video This link opens in a new windowCollection of online videos on lectures, interviews, or demonstrations of counseling sessions related to social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from social science & humanities journals, back to 1999. Indexing only for articles older than 1999 & some journals this library does not subscribe to.
Evidence-Based Resources
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) -- 1946-present This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index to all aspects of medicine, covering journals and some titles include full-text.
- PubMed -- 1946-present This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to all aspects of medicine back to 1946. Freely available from the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus additional selected biomedical sources. Look for the "Check for Full Text at EWU" button within individual PubMed records. - Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowIncludes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (called Cochrane Reviews); DARE: Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials); Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies); Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessment); and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations).
- SAMHSA's National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and PracticesA searchable online registry of more than 290 interventions supporting mental health promotion, substance abuse prevention, and mental health and substance abuse treatment.
- Social Programs That WorkIdentifies those social interventions shown in rigorous studies to produce sizable, sustained benefits to participants and/or society.
APA Publication Manual Style (7th edition)
- Annotated Student Sample Paper (APA Style 7th Edition)The sample paper was published in annotated format in the APA Publication Manual (7th edition).
Social Work E-Books
- The Concise APA HandbookCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2021The guidebook explains the basics of APA in simple, easy-to-understand language and provides the information about the concept of plagiarism, how to find sources and evaluate the sources, as well as use sources in effective ways.
