Link to Art Subject Guide
Subject Expert
(please email me to schedule!)
Canvas site: https://canvas.ewu.edu/enroll/NEYYCL
Get Help
- Text Message us! 509-383-8677 (not 24/7)
- 509-359-2263 JFK Library reference desk (Cheney)
Introduction
This section of the research guide supports BFA students in locating credible articles on contemporary artists, using primarily electronic resources available through the EWU Libraries and resources freely-available on the internet.
Refer to Canvas for assignment requirements (links to Canvas section for Fall 2021 assignments).
Below you will find suggestions for evaluating your sources for credibility and appropriateness, suggested places to search for credible articles, and lists of credible journals and magazines with articles about contemporary artists.
Please don't hesitate to be in touch with me to request assistance with research for your assignments. My email address is rkrause3@ewu.edu or message me through Canvas.
Best of luck with your assignment!
Rose Krause, Librarian for Art
Evaluating Sources
For the purposes of your assignment, you need to find credible articles about contemporary artists. In order to assess credibility, ask yourself the following questions about the source you're evaluating:
- Does the creator (author and/or publisher) have experience or expertise?
- Experience (working as an artist)
- Academic expertise
- Curatorial expertise
- What is the purpose or objective of the author and the publisher of the resource?
In addition to assessing credibility, also double-check that the resource is appropriate to the topic or assignment. Does it meet requirements for currency (in other words, how old can an article be?) and for length (how long, in general, should the article be?).
Journals and Magazines with Articles on Contemporary Artists
Video demonstration of how to browse for credible articles in the publications listed below (opens in my Canvas site; you may need to "enroll" in the site to access the video)
Listed below are art journals and magazines featuring credible articles on contemporary artists (note not all titles are available through EWU Libraries' databases; some may be available freely on the internet):
| Journal/Magazine Title | Availability through EWU Library | Availability Elsewhere |
|---|---|---|
| Afterimage | EBSCOhost (indexing and full text: 1996-present) | |
| Aperture (photography) |
JSTOR (full text: 1952 to last 2 years [ie, 2018] [Vol. 1, No. 1-No. 233]) In Print at JFK Library (Lower Level Periodicals TR1 .A62: 1972-2020) |
|
| Apollo | In Print at JFK Library (Main Level Periodical N1 .A255: 1961-2020) | |
| Art Journal |
EBSCOhost (full text: 1974 to present; indexing: 1985-present) JSTOR (full text: 1960 to most recent 4 years) |
|
| Art News |
In Print at JFK Library (Main Level Periodical N1 .A6: 1942-present) EBSCOhost (indexing: 1984-present) |
|
| Art Papers |
|
Website |
| Art Review | Website | |
| ArtForum |
In Print at JFK Library (Main Level Periodical N1 .A814: 1981-current) EBSCOhost (indexing: 1993-present) |
|
| Art in America | EBSCOhost (full text: 2002-present; indexing: 1984-present) | |
| Blind Spot (Photography) | ||
| Ceramics Monthly | EBSCOhost (full text and indexing: 2011-present) | |
| e-flux | Website | |
| Hi Fructose | Record in Primo, but no link in View It (troubleshoot link issue) | Website |
| Juxtapoz | In Print at JFK Library (Main Level Periodical N6512.5.P79 J89: 2007-present) | |
| October |
EBSCOhost (full text: 1997-most recent 12 months; indexing: 1997-present) JSTOR (1976 - Most recent 7 years) |
|
| Third Text | EBSCOhost (full text: 2002-Most recent 18 months; indexing: 2002-present) | |
| Sculpture Magazine | In Print at JFK Library (Main Level Periodical NB1 .S38: 1996-2020) |
A more exhaustive list of Visual Arts and Art Education titles is available on the Art Research Guide (note that the list is specific to titles available through the EBSCOhost Academic Search Ultimate database).
Search the Library Catalog for Articles on Contemporary Artists
- EWU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for books, videos, articles and more at EWU Libraries, Summit Libraries and beyond. While not required, if you want the full functionality (save or request items, etc.), please sign in with your NetID.
Use the EWU Library catalog to search across multiple journal and magazine titles to find articles from credible art publications.
Watch the video demonstration for tips on how to search and assess the results list in the Library catalog [Note: Video currently being uploaded as of 10/2/2021] (the video lives on my Canvas site, so you may be prompted to "enroll" to access the video)
Websites with Articles on Artists
Many museums and galleries include information about contemporary artists on their websites. Below are links to museums and and other entities that provide substantial textual information about artists on their websites.
For living artists, search for gallery websites that have exhibited the artist's work or that may represent the artist.
Use the same criteria to evaluate website articles for credibility and appropriateness as described above.
- Met Museum Timeline of Art History - Artists and MakersSearch for the name of your artist to see if a credible, substantial article is available. The site will also include links to objects related to your artist in the Met's collections.
- Victoria and Albert Museum (V&A) - CollectionsIn-depth biographical information for artists represented in the V&A collection.
- Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) - ArtistsInformation about artists with works in the collection or who have exhibited at MoMA.
- Art21 - ArtistsBiographical information and images of artists and their works.
Search Google Scholar for Articles on Contemporary Artists
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Google Scholar to search for scholarly articles across the Web (this can be a good complement to subscription databases). Note the citation tracking feature. This link includes Eastern Washington University indicators. You will see "Find it @ EWU" in your results, if we have the article full text in one of our databases.
Evaluation of Research Guide and Video Tutorials
Please complete an evaluation in Survey Monkey that tells me what went well and didn't go well in the video tutorials and on the research guide. The survey is anonymous and has nothing to do with your performance in this course.
Student survey link: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/T28CNRX
Instructor survey link: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/TQLXZWQ
Thank you for your feedback!