Open Access Resources for BASW and MSW Social Work Alumni

Peer-reviewed articles on current issues, challenges, and responses facing social work practice and education.

Articles that advance the scientific analysis of human social behavior, particularly with regard to understanding and influencing important social problems.

An annual peer-reviewed journal for up-and-coming scholars in the field of social work to share their research on social work practice, education, research, policy and theory.

Published by the University of North Dakota Center for Rural Education and Communities in collaboration with the National Rural Social Work Caucus. This journals focus is on the promotion of excellence in rural social work practice.

Publishes critical and research work by current graduate students in the Human Services as well as articles by guest scholars.

The IJCV is a forum for scientific exchange and public dissemination of up-to-date scientific knowledge on conflict and violence.

The International Journal of Social Work Values and Ethics examines the ethical and values issues that affect and are interwoven with social work practice, research, and theory development.

Intersectionalities is a peer-reviewed, open access journal sponsored by Memorial University's School of Social Work. The journal is international in scope, and publishes articles relating to social work analysis, research, polity, and practice

"This journal publishes two types of peer-reviewed scientific articles on subjects of importance for social work, with a special emphasis on comparative research on different aspects. This includes: Comparative studies and single site studies that also generate insight and knowledge in various geographical/cultural and national settings."

Formerly the Journal of Indigenous Voices in Social Work. JISD publishes on education, practice, research and policy making relevant to indigenous peoples’ social and economic well-being.

Publishes articles that contribute to current knowledge and understanding of the social processes that marginalize individuals, families and communities.

JSWGC is a scholarly peer reviewed journal designed to promote research in the practice of social work that has international and/or local significance with a focus on social change. JSWGC provides high level research, literature and book reviews and thought pieces related to the field of social work and social change.

Research that advances knowledge of social problems, programs, and policies. Special emphasis is placed on publishing findings from studies of the effectiveness of social and health services, including public policies and practices. Open access 2010-2019 (V.1 - V.10)

"Social Affairs is an open access, peer-reviewed, bi-annual academic journal for the Social Sciences dedicated to publishing academic papers of the finest quality."

Dedicated to critical analysis of the relationship between social work, social policy, the state and economic forces.

This interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal covers issues dealing with the social, cultural, economic, political, and philosophical problems associated with the struggle for social justice.

Addiction Science & Clinical Practice provides a forum for clinically relevant research and perspectives that contribute to improving the quality of care for people with unhealthy alcohol, tobacco, or other drug use and addictive behaviors across a spectrum of clinical settings.

Addictive Behaviors Reports is an open-access and peer reviewed online-only journal offering an interdisciplinary forum for the publication of research in addictive behaviors.

Alcohol and Alcoholism publishes papers on the biomedical, psychological, and sociological aspects of alcoholism and alcohol research. Full text articles available after 12 month embargo.

Harm Reduction Journal is an open access, peer-reviewed, online journal whose focus is on the prevalent patterns of psychoactive drug use, the public policies meant to control them, and the search for effective methods of reducing the adverse medical, public health, and social consequences associated with both drugs and drug policies.

This journal publishes refereed articles on innovative individual, family, group work, and community practice models for treating and preventing substance abuse and other addictions in diverse populations. Open access to selected articles.

This journal publishes original research articles, reviews and letters in the field of pre-clinical and clinical addiction and substance abuse research. Topics covered in this interdisciplinary journal include: pharmacology; neuroscience; co-dependence; epidemiology; genetics; psychiatry; diagnosis; prevention; therapy; policy of addiction and substance abuse. Ceased publication in 2014.

SATPP is an open access, peer-reviewed online journal that encompasses all aspects of research concerning substance abuse, with a focus on policy issues.

The journal provides an international platform for comprehensive scientific communication on child and adolescent mental health across different cultural backgrounds.

Online peer-reviewed journal, featuring articles related to the development, care, and education of children with an emphasis on practice-related research and development, issues related to practice, parent participation, and policy. Ceased publication in 2015.

An interdisciplinary, cross-national journal that is committed to scholarly excellence in the field of research about and services for children, youth, families and their communities.

JFS, formerly Family Preservation Journal, is an open-access, double-blind peer-reviewed online journal...devoted to presenting theoretical, practice, and evaluation articles on the strengths perspective in family-centered practice to improve services that promote and sustain family systems.

Depression Research and Treatment is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes original research articles, review articles, and clinical studies related to all aspects of depression.

An open access, online journal that provides a home for the latest mental health system research, policy and debates, as well as for articles with educational intent that will build capacity for mental health system research and development.

Full open access journal.

An interdisciplinary journal aims to explore the current and future potentials for social justice which includes legal, moral and economic issues.

This journal aims to highlight engaged scholarship and the very important social change work done by professionals and activists. It is published by the Lewis & Clark College Graduate School of Education and Counseling, Department of Counseling Psychology.

This journal is an interdisciplinary journal grounded in social work. It is designed to provide a forum for community practice, including community organizing, planning, social administration, organizational development, community development, and social change. Open access to selected articles