HIST 401: Library and Archival Historical Research

Different archives have different rules for signing into the archives and what materials are allowed in the reading room. It is always a good idea to consult the archives website or to ask the archivist about their reading room policies. Depending upon the specific rules of an archives, consider bringing the following:

• A photo ID, as this is sometimes required upon sign in.
• A copy of the collection finding aid (either PDF downloaded to a device or hardcopy).
• Notes on the specific files you intend to view.
• A couple of pencils for taking notes.
• A charged phone, tablet, or digital camera for taking photographs.
• A USB drive, particularly if the reading room has a public scanner.
• A laptop or notebook for notes, depending upon your preference and reading room rules.
• A sealed water bottle. While you probably can't bring it into the archives, you will be able to stow it away in a locker for when you want to take a break.

Each archives makes its own judgments on how best to balance security with creating an environment conducive to research. The following rules are rules common to many reading rooms. The bolded are rules in place at the Eastern Washington University Archives and Special Collections:

• No food or drink in the reading room.
• For writing notes, pencils are allowed, but not pens.
• One box on a table at a time, one folder out at a time.
• Electronics are allowed for notes and oftentimes photographs.
  • Laptops and/or zip-up covers may not be allowed by some institutions.
• Gloves required when handling photographs or other materials sensitive to chemicals naturally found on the skin.
• Paper provided by the archives can be used for notes when use of personal notebooks are restricted.
• Bags and heavy coats must be stored in lockers outside the reading room.
• Items researchers bring into the reading room are routinely checked on the way out of the reading room.

In each case, the rules set out by an archives is intended to ensure access. While more restrictive policies might appear to inhibit access, protecting against damage and theft ensures long-term access to archival collections.