Controversial Topics Database
- CQ Researcher -- 1923-present This link opens in a new windowArticles from this magazine; each weekly issue covers one current event or policy topic.
Books on Social Justice
Video Streaming Services
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new windowOver 7000 videos tagged "anthropology" along with another 68,000 documentaries, feature films, newsreels, etc.
Websites
- Amnesty InternationalAn international organization campaigning for human rights for all.
- Human Rights WatchHuman Rights Watch investigates and reports on abuses happening in all corners of the world.
- United Nations: Human RightsPromotes and protects human rights for all.
Access Electronic Resources from Off-Campus
All of our databases may be accessed from any computer connected to the Internet using your EWU Single Sign-On (SSO) credentials. When you click on the link for one of our electronic resources, an EWU SSO log-in screen will appear. Follow these steps to log-in:
- Click on the red EWU SSO Login button.
- Choose your account (your EWU email address).
- Enter your password.
Having trouble accessing your Single Sign-On Account?
- If you forgot your username or password, then you can go to accounts.ewu.edu to reset them. If you haven't set up your account yet (a new student or employee), then go to accounts.ewu.edu and click on Activate Account to create your password.
- Are you still having trouble with your SSO login? Contact the IT Help Desk at (509) 359-2247.
Criminal Justice
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from criminal justice magazines and journals, with indexing/abstracting from others.
- NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes criminal justice journals, with selected magazines and videos back to the 1970s. Links full-text government reports from the U.S. Dept. of Justice.
Ethnic Studies
*Note: For additional resources on American Indians, please see our American Indian Studies research guide.
- African American Experience This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and encyclopedias, as well as primary source documents for the history and culture of the African American community.
- American Indian Experience This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and encyclopedias, as well as hundreds of primary source documents and photographs for the histories and cultures of the Native American peoples.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, books, magazines and government documents on all aspects of North American indigenous peoples' culture, history, and life. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present. Formerly titled Bibliography of Native North Americans.
- Latino American Experience This link opens in a new windowPrimary and secondary sources,including biographies, on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States.
Gender Studies
- LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals, magazines, and books, along with indexing from hundreds more. Dates of coverage vary by title, but some go back to the mid-1950s/1960s.
- Women’s Studies Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowProvides a history of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society with a focus on the 19th and 20th centuries. Access to diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals on issues such as societal contributions, social status, and women's movements and more.
Health Sciences
- Health/Medicine Databases: CINAHL, MEDLINE & Health Sources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch four health/medicine databases simultaneously: the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, MEDLINE, Health Source Consumer and Health Source Academic.
Law & Legal Issues
- Legal Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from scholarly legal journals and law reviews. Most go back 20 years or less, but a few go back to the mid 1960s, including American Business Law Journal and Journal of Accountancy.
Multidiscipinary Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books, and videos in all subjects.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from social science & humanities journals, back to 1999. Indexing only for articles older than 1999 & some journals this library does not subscribe to.
Psychology
- PsycArticles - APA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from all American Psychological Association journals. Coverage back to the first issue of each journal, for example Psychological Review goes back to 1894.
- PsycInfo - APA (EBSCOhost) -- 1806-present This link opens in a new windowA large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
Sociology
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.