History 490: Consumerism in World History

Scholarly books and encyclopedias, as well as primary source documents for the history and culture of the African American community.

Scholarly books and encyclopedias, as well as hundreds of primary source documents and photographs for the histories and cultures of the Native American peoples.

Congressional and Executive Branch reports, complementing the U.S. Congressional Serial Set.

Images of art, architecture, photographs and videos from art museums from around the world. Keyword search or browse by collection, type, or geography. Create an individual account to download the images. Downloaded images can be used in the classroom and non-commercial educational use.

The Asian American Experience applies a critical lens to the study of U.S. history, exploring the social, political, and economic forces that have shaped the experiences of Asian Americans in distinct historical eras. The database also explores some of the rich and varied experiences of Native Hawaiians and other Pacific Island and indigenous groups. This database offers a rich and diverse variety of primary sources, including images, audio clips, documents, and video, covering multiple dimensions of Asian American history and culture.

Publications covering the expansion of civil rights protections and definitions in the United States. Includes hearings, committee prints, legislative histories, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from landmark Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights.

Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the renowned bibliographies by Charles Evans (1639-1800) and Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker (1801-1819).

Online version of “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750”. Contains entries for texts written in Europe before 1750.

Thematic essays and data sets on population, economics, labor, government, crime, etc., from Colonial times up to to 2000. You may download the data into Excel as well as dynamically create graphs.

Primary and secondary sources,including biographies, on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States.

Newspapers.com Library Edition is an extensive online database of 4,000+ historical newspapers from the early 1700s into the 2000s. This collection contains a diverse blend of well-known regional and local newspapers in the U.S. and other countries.

19th Century British Pamphlets, created by Research Libraries UK (RLUK), contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in research libraries in the United Kingdom.

Indexing from magazines and a few journals.

Multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. Access to most content except some scholarly articles.

The liberation of Southern Africa and the dismantling of the Apartheid regime was one of the major political developments of the 20th century, with far-reaching consequences for people throughout Africa and around the globe. This collection focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. It brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world documenting colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region.

Full-text Congressional reports, documents & journals from 1817 to 1980.

Provides a history of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society with a focus on the 19th and 20th centuries. Access to diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals on issues such as societal contributions, social status, and women's movements and more.