Useful Call Numbers
History of law: K140-165 (upper level book stacks)
Useful Subject Headings for Searching the Library Catalog
- Immigration:
- United States Emigration and immigration History
- Chinese Immigration to the U.S.:
- Chinese United States History
- Chinese Americans History
- Chinese Immigration History
- Piracy:
- Pirates History
- Piracy History
- Pirates America History
- Privateering
- Privateering America History
- Buccaneers
- Terrorism: terrorism
- Indians:
- Indians of North America Legal status, laws, etc.
- Indians of North America Legal status , laws , etc . History
- Indians of North America Legal status , laws , etc . Cases
- Indians of North America Northwest, Pacific Treaties
Find Books, Videos
Having problems requesting items via Summit? Please contact the JFK Circulation Desk at 509.359.7888, circulation@ewu.edu, or in person on the main level.
- EWU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for books, videos, articles and more at EWU Libraries, Summit Libraries and beyond. While not required, if you want the full functionality (save or request items, etc.), please sign in with your NetID.
Useful Words for Finding Primary Sources in the Library Catalog
To find books that reproduce primary sources on your topic, you need to enter the topic (or person) you are researching and one of the following subjects:
Archives, correspondence, diaries, interviews, letters, manuscripts, maps, memoirs, narratives (personal, slave, etc.), photographs, propaganda, sources, speeches.
If you want to find reproductions of important primary sources from U.S. history, then you can do a subject search for United States History Sources in the EWU catalog.
Online Encyclopedias that EWU Owns Access
American Jurisprudence 2d (AMJUR)One of the top legal encyclopedias on American law topics.
Constitutional AmendmentsISBN: 9781414422879Provides the history and social context of the amendment process, covering each of the 27 amendments. Significant issues, events, figures, movements and judicial/legislative actions in the history of each amendment are also covered chronologically.- Encyclopedia of the American ConstitutionISBN: 9780028659862Contains new and updated original articles covering recent concepts (i.e. adoption, race, the Constitution, birthright citizenship) and court cases since 1992 offering comprehensive coverage of all aspects of constitutional law, as well as biographies of people who have had an impact on our government's legal framework (Supreme Court Justices, Presidents, Cabinet Members, Lawyers, and more). Also covers judicial decisions handed down by the Supreme Court.
Gale Encyclopedia of American LawISBN: 9781414443027Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more.
Law Dictionaries
Black's Law DictionaryCall Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference Desk (KF156 .B53 2009)ISBN: 0314771654Preface; Pronunciation of Latin; Outline of Latin Pronunciations; Transcription System; Guide to Pronunciation Symbols; Text of Definitions; Appendices: Table of Abbreviations, Constitution of the United States; Time Chart of the United States Supreme Court; Organizational Chart of United States Government; Table of British Regnal Years.
- Wex (Cornell University)Wex is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School.
Encyclopedias about the U.S. Legal System
The Oxford Companion to American Law by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (KF154 .O96 2002)ISBN: 0195088786Publication Date: 2002
The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (KF8742.A35 O93 2005)ISBN: 0195176618Publication Date: 2005
West's Encyclopedia of American Law by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (KF154 .W47 2005)ISBN: 0787663670Publication Date: 2004
Genocide
Legal Histories
The Cambridge History of Law in America by Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks (KF352 .C36 2008)ISBN: 0521803055Publication Date: 2008
The Law in America, 1607-1861 by Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks (KF352.A2 L37 1989)ISBN: 0916141039Publication Date: 1989
Native Americans
Cases and Materials on Federal Indian Law by Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks (KF8204.5 .G47 2011)ISBN: 0314200371Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of United States Indian Policy and Law by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (KF8205 .E525 2009)ISBN: 1933116986Publication Date: 2008
In the Courts of the Conqueror by Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks (KF8205 .E28 2012)ISBN: 1555913849Publication Date: 2012
Treaties with American Indians by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (KF8203.6 .T74 2008)ISBN: 1576078817Publication Date: 2008
Refugee Law
- The International Law of Refugee Protection by Publication Date: 2014
Rethinking Humanitarian Intervention by Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks (JZ6369 .L47 2002)ISBN: 0271021454Publication Date: 2002
Exploring the Boundaries of Refugee Law by Call Number: Held by another university (order through Summit)ISBN: 9004265570Publication Date: 2015
Human Rights and the Refugee Definition by Call Number: Held by another university (order through Summit)ISBN: 9004288589Publication Date: 2016
The Law of Refugee Status by Call Number: Held by another university (order through Summit)ISBN: 1107012511Publication Date: 2014
Piracy
Modern Piracy
Maritime Piracy and Its Control by Call Number: Held by another university (order through Summit)ISBN: 1137465271Publication Date: 2014
Modern Piracy by Call Number: Held by another university (order through Summit)ISBN: 1849804842Publication Date: 2013
Historical Surveys of Piracy
Pillaging the Empire: Global piracy on the high seas, 1500-1750 by ISBN: 0765638428Publication Date: 2015Order from Summit
Pillaging the Empire: piracy in the Americas, 1500-1750 by ISBN: 0765602571Publication Date: 1998Order from Summit
Terrorism
The Ethics of Interrogation by Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks (HV8593 .L383 2013)ISBN: 1589019725Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Terrorism by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (HV6431 .C65 2002)ISBN: 0816044554Publication Date: 2002
Laws, Outlaws, and Terrorists by Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks (HV6432 .B58 2010)ISBN: 0262014750Publication Date: 2010-09-24
Research Handbook on International Law and Terrorism by Call Number: Held by another university (order through Summit)ISBN: 0857938800Publication Date: 2014
International Law, New Diplomacy and Counterterrorism by Call Number: Held by another university (order through Summit)ISBN: 1138183644Publication Date: 2015
Terrorism and International Criminal Law by Call Number: Held by another university (order through Summit)ISBN: 9058871673Publication Date: 2013)
The Fundamentals of Counterterrorism Law by Call Number: Held by another university (order through Summit)ISBN: 1627223657Publication Date: 2014
War & International Law
The Oxford Handbook of the Use of Force in International Law by Call Number: Held by another university (order through Summit)ISBN: 0199673047Publication Date: 2015
The Oxford Handbook of International Law in Armed Conflict by Call Number: Held by another university (order through Summit)ISBN: 0199559694Publication Date: 2014
