× We are working remotely to support you! Online and streaming content accessible 24/7. Lobby Service for library materials & equipment pickup, and JFK Study Hall. For details see Library Access for Spring 2021
The JFK Library Archives & Special Collections contain a variety of historical and topographic maps of local interest that are in the process of reorganization and cataloging. Use the EWU Library Catalog link above to search by key words for those that have completed this process. To inquire about other materials that can be made available, please contact our archivist:
University Archives & Special Collections
320 Media Lane, 100 LIB
Cheney, WA 99004-2453
Phone: (509) 359-2475
Steve Bingo, Digital Projects Archivist
The JFK Library on the Cheney campus of Eastern Washington University is a partial Federal Government Depository Library. Most depository maps are stored in map cases on the Lower Level, are fully cataloged and searchable with our EWU Library Catalog (linked, at top) and can be checked out to library users.
The map case collection consists predominantly of 7.5 minute, 1:24 000 scale topographic quadrangles of Washington State, but this collection is 90% complete or less. We also have significant holdings of Oregon and Idaho 7.5 minute topo quads, with a few from Montana and Alaska.
Other Interior Department maps include BLM Surface Management and Minerals Management Surveys (1:100 000 scale) and other folded maps in the 7.5 X 15 minute series and the 30 X 60 minute series, plus geological maps included in various US Geological Survey publications series stored in compact shelving. All are searchable through our Library Catalog.
We also maintain maps from the Bureau of Commerce (including 1980 and 1990 decennial Census maps) plus a few selections from the Department of Agriculture, Forest Service, National Park Service, National Coast Survey, and other agencies, some of which are on microfiche.