Subject Expert
Quick Links
- Course ReservesYour instructor may reserve items at the library. Look up the materials placed on reserve.
Get Help
- Text Message us! 509-383-8677 (not 24/7)
- 509-359-2263 JFK Library reference desk (Cheney)
Journal Articles
- Civil Rights and Social Justice (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new windowPublications covering the expansion of civil rights protections and definitions in the United States. Includes hearings, committee prints, legislative histories, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from landmark Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use Google Scholar to search for scholarly articles across the Web (this can be a good complement to subscription databases). Note the citation tracking feature. This link includes Eastern Washington University indicators. You will see "Find it @ EWU" in your results, if we have the article full text in one of our databases. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull text articles and ebooks from humanities and social sciences journals
- PsycArticles - APA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from all American Psychological Association journals. Coverage back to the first issue of each journal, for example Psychological Review goes back to 1894.
- PsycInfo - APA (EBSCOhost) -- 1806-present This link opens in a new windowA large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from social science & humanities journals, back to 1999. Indexing only for articles older than 1999 & some journals this library does not subscribe to.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles and analyzes citations from 20,000+ journals in the sciences and social sciences back to 1970, though some are as far back as 1788. Search this database in lieu of Web of Science.
- Social Work Abstracts (EBSCOhost) -- 1965-present This link opens in a new window***This database only allows 8 users at a time***
Selectively indexes journals for articles relating to social work and human services. - SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database for sociology. Covers over 2500 journals, along with relevant books and conference proceedings. Includes over 10,000 author profiles.
Encyclopedia Articles, Biographies, and other Selected Reference Sources
Encyclopedias offer a short, concise overview on a given topic. Consider this as an option if you need basic information.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowScholarly encyclopedias and reference works on a wide variety of topics: business, ASCD publications in education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, sciences, and the social sciences. Formerly named Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL).
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowSAGE Knowledge offers subject encyclopedias and reference works, mainly in the social sciences and business management.
- eBook Collection - Reference (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowEntries from scholarly bibliographies, handbooks, and specialized reference works. Keyword search the entire collection in the advanced search mode.