Online Reference Books
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowScholarly encyclopedias and reference works on a wide variety of topics: business, ASCD publications in education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, sciences, and the social sciences. Formerly named Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL).
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowSAGE Knowledge offers subject encyclopedias and reference works, mainly in the social sciences and business management.
U.S. Military History
Americans at War by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E181 .A453 2005ISBN: 002865806XPublication Date: 2004-12-03
Civil War by Call Number: EWU-Cheney Upper Level Book Stacks (E468 .C65 2006)ISBN: 1572154624Publication Date: 2000
The Civil War Naval Encyclopedia by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (E591 .C53 2011)ISBN: 1598843389Publication Date: 2010
Cold War by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: D839.5 .C65 1992ISBN: 0810389274Publication Date: 1992-12-01
Colonial Wars of North America, 1512-1763 by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (E46.5 .C65 1996)ISBN: 0824072081Publication Date: 1996
The Encyclopedia of African American Military History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: UB418 .A47 W45 2004ISBN: 1591021693Publication Date: 2004-07-01
Encyclopedia of American Military History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E181 .E63 2003ISBN: 0816043558Publication Date: 2003-03-01
Encyclopedia of Native American Wars and Warfare by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E81 .E98 2005ISBN: 0816033374Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E468 .E53 2000ISBN: 1576070662Publication Date: 2000-12-13
Encyclopedia of the American Revolutionary War by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E208 .E64 2006ISBN: 1851094083Publication Date: 2006-09-28
Encyclopedia of the Korean War by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: DS918 .E53 2000ISBN: 1576070298Publication Date: 2000-06-28
Encyclopedia of the Persian Gulf War by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (UF500 .G8 1995)ISBN: 1576074064Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: DS557.7 .E53 1998ISBN: 0874369835Publication Date: 1998-09-18
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (DS557.7 .E53 2000)ISBN: 0195135245Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (DS557.7 .E53 1996)ISBN: 0132769328Publication Date: 1996
The Encyclopedia of Warships by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (V765 .E53 2006)ISBN: 1592236278Publication Date: 2006.
Encyclopedia of World War I by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: D510 .E53 2005ISBN: 1851094202Publication Date: 2005-09-27
Encyclopedia of World War II by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: D740 .E516 2005ISBN: 1576079996Publication Date: 2004-12-17
Oxford Companion to American Military History by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (E181 .O94 1999)ISBN: 0195071980Publication Date: 2000
The Oxford Companion to the Second World War by ISBN: 0192141686Publication Date: 2000
World War II in Europe by ISBN: 0824070291Publication Date: 1998
Miscellaneous
Harper Encyclopedia Military History by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (D25 .D86 1993)ISBN: 0062700561Publication Date: 1993
Print Reference Books: U.S. History
Pring reference books are located on the main level of the JFK Library (behind the reference desk). U.S. history is mostly in the E call number range. You cannot check reference books out, but you can make copies of relevant sections.
Dictionary of American History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E174 .D52 2003ISBN: 0684805332Publication Date: 2002-12-11*Also available online
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E169.1 .E624 2001ISBN: 0684805618Publication Date: 2001-03-26
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E169.1 .E626 2001ISBN: 0684805006Publication Date: 2000-12-13
The Oxford Companion to United States History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E174 .O94 2001ISBN: 0195082095Publication Date: 2001-07-04
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: E183 .P85 2010ISBN: 0691129711Publication Date: 2009-11-09
