Research Guides: Military Science & ROTC: Primary Sources

Useful Words for Finding Primary Sources in the Library Catalog

To find books that reproduce primary sources on your topic, you need to enter the topic (or person) you are researching and one of the following subjects:

Archives, correspondence, diaries, interviews, letters, manuscripts, maps, memoirs, narratives (personal, slave, etc.), photographs, propaganda, sources, speeches.

If you want to find reproductions of important primary sources from U.S. history, then you can do a subject search for United States History Sources in the EWU catalog.

EWU Library Catalog

EWU Databases Containing Primary Sources

African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Scholarly books and encyclopedias, as well as primary source documents for the history and culture of the African American community.
American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
Scholarly books and encyclopedias, as well as hundreds of primary source documents and photographs for the histories and cultures of the Native American peoples.
American State Papers 1789-1838 This link opens in a new window
Congressional and Executive Branch reports, complementing the U.S. Congressional Serial Set.
Early American Imprints 1639-1800 & 1801-1819 This link opens in a new window
Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the renowned bibliographies by Charles Evans (1639-1800) and Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker (1801-1819).
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary sources,including biographies, on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set -- 1817-1980 This link opens in a new window
Full-text Congressional reports, documents & journals from 1817 to 1980.

For more databases, see the Primary Sources section of the History Research Guide [https://ewu.libapps.com/libguides/admin_c.php?g=53462&p=344893].

National Resources

American Memory (Library of Congress)
America's Historical Documents (NARA)
Famous documents from American history presented by the National Archives.
100 Milestone Documents (NARA)
The full-text of 100 milestone documents (including some involving international events) compiled by the National Archives that chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.
National Security Archive (George Washington University)

International Resources

Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
A collection of digital primary documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
A collection of open access primary document sources. Links connect users to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation. The sources cover a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural).
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.