Ask Government Publishing Office (GPO)
- Ask GPOA website to submit questions to any area of the U. S. Government Printing Office.
Video - History of FDLP
View GPO’s video about the History of Federal Depository Library Program.
View the video of History of the U.S. Government Printing Office
FDLP Promotional Materials
Federal Depository at EWU
The United States Government is the largest publisher in the world. Every day the U.S. Government issues congressional bills, laws, regulations, presidential documents, studies, and more on a variety of topics. The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) was established by Congress to ensure that the American public has access to its Government's information. The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) is administered by the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO).
JFK Memorial Library houses collections of documents received on deposit from the U.S. Federal Government and the State of Washington. These important materials have been received from the federal government since 1966. The collection's strengths include: Census, Education, Public Health, Indian Affairs, Geology, Mining, Earth Sciences, Congress, World War II, and Vietnam. State materials have been received since 1968 and include Pacific Northwest publications, state laws, regulations, and codes.
Access to both paper-based and electronic government information is provided for students, faculty, staff, and the community at large. Consult the EWU Library Catalog for the majority of documents at JFK Library. Consult the GPO Monthly Catalog (on FirstSearch) or the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, provided by GPO Access, for documents from 1976 to the present, which when applicable includes hot links to full-text documents available over the Internet.
The majority of the federal documents collection is located on the lower level of the library. The state documents are located in the general stacks and in the Special Collections Department on the lower level. For questions, please consult the JFK Library Reference Desk (509-359-2263).
Access to Partnering Databases - through Participation in FDLP
- Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)Currently, the only FDLP Agency Subscription Database, the Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL), is a database containing non-classified Presidential directives, policy, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources related to homeland security.
- PACER: Access and Education ProgramPublic Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) is an online service of the United States Judiciary that provides case and docket information from Federal appellate, district and bankruptcy courts. Participating libraries are obligated to provide instructional sessions about PACER. Federal depository libraries may register to participate.
About FDLP
- About the FDLPContains information about the Federal Depository Library Program
- The National Collection of U.S. Government Public InformationThe development, maintenance, and preservation of the National Collection is critical to providing free, ready, and permanent public access to Federal Government information, now and for future generations.
FDLP Collection Management Tools
- Locating Federal Depository LibrariesLocate a Federal depository library near you.
- U.S. Government BookstoreFrom the Government Printing Office (GPO)
- FDLP AcademyWebinars and webcasts on a wide variety of Government information topics, presented by GPO, other Federal agencies, or from the FDLP community.
- Item ListerItem Lister provides users with the ability to see which item numbers are and are not being selected by any given Federal depository library.
- List of ClassesThe List of Classes is the official listing of publications available for selection by the depository libraries.
- Resources for Gov't Info LibrariansNon-GPO resources useful to government information librarians and staff managing Federal depository operations and services.
FDLP LibGuides
- FDLP LibGuides - Subject GuidesFDLP Subject Guides contain information about specific topics, including resource lists, search tips, and community guides.