Federal Government Information

Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information including Congressional bills, Public Laws, & Congressional Record from 101st Congress (1989) forward;

Provides information on membership, committees, and the legislative process

Provides information on membership, committees, and the legislative process

Provides analysis, data and estimates

The Congressional Research Service (CRS), a federal legislative branch agency located within the Library of Congress, provides research reports on a broad range of national policy issues for Congress.

Reports from an agency that evaluates and audits programs and expenditures by the federal government. Browse or search GAO Reports back to the 1960s.

The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.

Portal to the current U.S. President's Administration

Official publication of the President’s addresses, writings, and remarks.

The Department of Agriculture provides leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, and related issues.

The Department of Commerce is to create the conditions for economic growth and opportunity.

The Commerce Department collects, stores, and analyzes a wealth of information, including data on the Nation’s economy, population, and environment.

FRED is an online database consisting of hundred of thousands of economic data time series from 103 sources.

The Department of Defense provides the military forces needed to deter war, and to protect the security of the United States.

The Department of Education fosters educational excellence, and to ensures equal access to educational opportunity for all.

Annual Reports Program produces statistical information covering a comprehensive view of key issues facing the U.S. education system.

The Department of Energy manages the nuclear infrastructure and administers the country's energy policy.

The Department of Health and Human Services protects the health of all Americans and provides essential human services.

DHS deals with customs, border, and immigration enforcement, emergency response to natural and manmade disasters, antiterrorism work, and cybersecurity.

The Department of Housing and Urban Development administers programs that provide housing and community development assistance.

The Department of Justice enforces federal laws, seeks just punishment for the guilty, and ensures the fair and impartial administration of justice.

The Department of Labor administers federal labor laws to guarantee workers' rights to fair, safe, and healthy working conditions, including minimum hourly wage and overtime pay, protection against employment discrimination, and unemployment insurance.

The Department of State advises the President and leads the nation in foreign policy issues. The State Department negotiates treaties and agreements with foreign entities, and represents the United States at the United Nations.

The Department of the Interior manages public lands and minerals, national parks, and wildlife refuges and upholds Federal trust responsibilities to Indian tribes and Native Alaskans.

The Department of the Treasury manages Federal finances by collecting taxes and paying bills and by managing currency, government accounts and public debt. The Department of the Treasury also enforces finance and tax laws.

The Department of Transportation is responsible for planning and coordinating federal transportation projects. It also sets safety regulations for all major modes of transportation.

The Department of Veterans Affairs runs programs benefiting veterans and members of their families.

The Administrative Office of the United States Courts handles the nonjudicial, administrative business of the United States Courts such as maintaining statistics and managing Court budgets.

The U.S. Supreme Court is the final appellate court of the U.S. judicial system. It has the power to review and overturn the decisions of lower courts.

The Supreme Court’s docket system contains information about cases, both pending and decided, that have been filed at the Court. The docket provided here contains complete information regarding the status of cases filed since the beginning of the 2001 Term.

“Slip” opinions are the first version of the Court’s opinions posted on this website.

The opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States are published officially in a set of case books called the United States Reports.

A list of Supreme Court opinion publishers including official opinion sources and unofficial opinion sources.

Oral arguments transcripts starting from 2010.

The Federal Judicial Center conducts policy research and provides continuing education resources for the judicial branch.

The U.S. Courts of Appeal hear appeals from lower courts of both civil and criminal trials, but do not investigate the facts of a case. Rather, the Appeals Courts investigate whether or not the law has been fairly and correctly applied by the lower courts.

US federal courts' official directory, contact information, as well as Federal Courts Circuit Map.

Resources on the history of the judicial branch including compilations of historical data on the courts, a biographical directory of Article III judges from 1789 to the present, as well as information about judges and judicial administration.

Learn how cases reach the Supreme Court and how the Justices make their decisions.