Subject Expert
Key Book
Finn, P. J. (2009). Literacy with an attitude: Educating working-class children in their own self-interest. Albany: State University of New York Press.
JFK Library Upper Stacks LC5051 .F56 2009
Suggested Sites
- International Children's Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
"A Library for the World's Children." Free database includes over 4600 full text picture books from around the world, in 59 languages.
- Cultural Authenticity CriteriaWOW and Kathy Short (2008) provide a quick review
- IBBY- International Board on Books for YouthSpecial books exhibits, programs and information.
Multicultural Awards and Lists
- Mildred C.Batchelder AwardAnnual award by American Library Association first published outside the United States in a language other than English for a book translated into English.
- Notable Books for a Global SocietyAnnual list of 25 books by Children's Literature Group of IRA (International Reading Association)
Book Reviews
- MultiCultural ReviewExcellent articles and reviews of a range of diverse titles.
- Skipping StonesChildren's magazine with multicultural themes. Each issue has a book review section.
- Teaching Tolerance resourcesThis database with short annotations is findable by topics and grade levels.
Blogs with a View
- American Indians in Children's LiteratureDebbie Reeses's informative and useful blog.
Additional Resources
Most library databases include journal articles and lessons with diversity as a topic. These additional resources will supplement.
- African American Experience This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and encyclopedias, as well as primary source documents for the history and culture of the African American community.
- Latino American Experience This link opens in a new windowPrimary and secondary sources,including biographies, on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States.
- American Indian Experience This link opens in a new windowScholarly books and encyclopedias, as well as hundreds of primary source documents and photographs for the histories and cultures of the Native American peoples.
- LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals, magazines, and books, along with indexing from hundreds more. Dates of coverage vary by title, but some go back to the mid-1950s/1960s.