Subject Expert
Video & Interactive Resources
- PBS Learning MediaGreat videos (and other curriculum content) from the range of subjects PBS covers, for all ages.
- EDSITEment: NEH Videos from the WebVideos recommended by the National Endowment for the Humanities
- PLIX Interactives at CK-12Math and science interactive activities available free online
- Storyline OnlineA collection of children's picture books that are read aloud to you by established actors, with lightly animated images from the book's pages, via YouTube videos.
Finding Materials for the Classroom
- NovelistReader's advisory content for fiction books, including author read-alikes, book discussion guides, and recommended reading lists.
- Novelist K-8 Plus This link opens in a new windowReader's advisory compilations for a younger audience. Includes descriptions of fiction and non-fiction books, read-alikes, book discussion guides, award lists, and recommended reading lists.
- TeachingBooks.NetBook guides and lesson plans, as well as author audio/video interviews that can be shown to students as elements of a lesson.
- MAS Ultra - School Edition (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from popular magazines useful at the high school level, plus entries from reference books.
- GoodReads"Discover and share books you love on Goodreads, the world's largest site for readers and book recommendations! "
- Reading RantsSpunky reviews in teen friendly categories.
- Teen Book Finder AppAn app for your mobile device that helps you find YA books!
Checking Text Readability
Most of the above tools will report readability for formally printed texts -- NoveList and TeachingBooks are both very consistent at providing that kind of support for both fiction and non-fiction. When needing to check the readability of other kinds of texts -- a newspaper article, a website, etc. -- consider trying the free tool below:
- Automatic Readability CheckerCopy and paste a sample text of 200-3000 words, and receive seven immediate readability checks using tools designed for different purposes (each tool is described on the page).
Where to Get the Books
- EWU Library CatalogSearch for books, videos, articles and more at EWU Libraries, Summit Libraries and beyond. While not required, if you want the full functionality (save or request items, etc.), please sign in with your NetID.
- Spokane County Library DistrictFree card to all in the county (except cities of Spangle and Liberty Lake)
Cheney Branch - Spokane Public LibraryIf you have a Spokane Public card, you may download their audiobooks too.
Background Information
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowSearches across several Gale literary databases, including Literature Criticism, Gale eBooks - Biography & Literature collections, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Something About the Author (biographical and critical information on children's and YA authors). Formerly named Gale Literary Sources, Artemis Literary.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's LiteratureWritten by an international roster of more than 300 authors, the Encyclopedia comprehensively documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world. With a global perspective that pays attention to significant international trends and the multicultural expansion of the field, it includes brief biographies of every major author and illustrator. Also included are feature essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world.