Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Eastern Washington University Libraries

History 498: Buffalo Bill & The Wild West

Find Books, Videos

Having problems requesting items via Summit? Please contact the JFK Circulation Department at 509.359.7888, or ewu.circulation@ewu.edu, or in person on the Main Level.

Useful Search Terms

When searching for books in a library catalog, do a subject search for these subject headings to find materials on these topics.

Buffalo Bill & Wild West Shows:

  • Buffalo Bill, 1846-1917.
  • Buffalo Bill's Wild West Show.
  • Wild west shows History.

Inidans:

  • Indians of North America (can be used generally for all North American Indians)
  • Indians of North America West (U.S.) History 19th century.
  • Indians of North America Great Plains History.  (specifically for the Plains Indians)
  • Indians of North America Great Plains Social life and customs.
  • Indians of North America Wars West (U.S.)

Frontier Life & U.S. Expansion:

  • Frontier and pioneer life West (U.S.)
  • West (U.S.) History 19th century.
  • United States Territorial expansion.
  • West (U.S.) History, Military 19th century.
  • United States. Army History 19th century.

Pop Culture:

  • Popular culture United States History 19th century.
  • Indians in popular culture United States.

 

For tips on how to find biographies, see the Biographies tab in this guide.

Reference Books

*The American Indian and the United States: A Documentary History.  Wilcomb Washburn.  New York: Random House, 1973.  JFK Main Level Reference (non-circulating)   E93 .W27.

  • Vol.1: A documentary history
  • Vol. 2: Indian Commissioner reports (1826-1963)
  • Vol. 3: Senate debates on civil versus military control of Indian affairs (1866-1970), Acts, ordinances & proclamations (1763-1968), Indian treaties (17788-1868).
  • Vol. 4: Indian treaties (17788-1868) continued, Legal decisions (1778-1868)

Atlas of the North American Indian.  Carl Waldman & Molly Braun.  New York: Facts on File, 1985.  JFK Main Level Reference (non-circulating)   E77 .W195 1985.

Biographical and Historical Index of American Indians and Persons Involved in Indian Affairs.     Eugenia Langford; Anita S Tilden; United States. Dept. of the Interior. Library.; United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Library.  Boston: G.K. Hall, 1966.  JFK Main Level Reference (non-circulating)   E77 .U5.

Columbia Guide to American Indians of the Great Plains.  Loretta Fowler.  New York: Columbia University Press, 2003.  JFK Upper Level Book Stacks   E78 .G73 F69 2003 (2 copies)

Dictionary of American History.  Stanley Kutler.  New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2003.  JFK Main Level Reference (non-circulating)   E174 .D52 2003.

*Encyclopedia of American Historical Documents.  Susan C Rosenfeld.  New York: Facts On File, 2004.  JFK Main Level Reference (Non-Circulating)   E173 .E54 2004.

Encyclopedia of American Indian Wars, 1492-1890.  Jerry Keenan.  Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1997.  JFK Main Level Reference (Non-Circulating)   E81 .K44 1997.

Encyclopedia of North American Indians.  Frederick E. Hoxie, editor.  Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company, 1996.  JFK Main Level Reference (non-circulating)    E76.2 .E53 1996.  Online access also available via NetLibrary.

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century.  Paul Finkelman.  New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2001.  JFK Main Level Reference (non-circulating)    E169.1 .E626 200.

Encyclopedia of World Cultures.  Encyclopedia of world cultures.  David Levinson.  Boston, MA.: G.K. Hall, 1991-1996.  JFK Main Level Reference (non-Circulating)   GN307 .E53 1991.  Also available online through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Gale Encyclopedia of Native American tribes.  Sharon Malinowski.  Detroit: Gale, 1998.  JFK Main Level Reference (non-circulating)   E77 .G15 1998.

*Handbook of North American Indians.  William Sturtevant.  Washington: Smithsonian Institution: U.S. G.P.O., 1978-2008.  JFK Main Level Reference (non-circulating)   E77 .H25.

The series is divided by geography, so see volume 13 for the Plains Indians.  Each volume is then breaks it down by individual tribes.

*Milestone Documents in American History: Exploring the primary sources that shaped America.  Paul Finkelman & Bruce Lesh.  Dallas, Tx: Schlager Group, 2008.  JFK Main Level Reference (non-circulating)   E173 .M62 2008.

Oxford Companion to the United States.  Paul Boyer and Melvyn Dubofsky.  New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
JFK Main Level Reference (non-Circulating)   E174 .O94 2001.

*Statistical Record of Native North Americans.  Marlita Reddy.  Detroit: Gale, 1993.  JFK Main Level Reference (non-circulating)   E98.P76 S73 1993.

Contains valuable population & demographic information of various tribes by various historical time periods.