Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Eastern Washington University Libraries

History 332/382: 20th Century Germany

Find Books, Videos

Having problems requesting items via Summit? Please contact the JFK Circulation Department at 509.359.7888, or ewu.circulation@ewu.edu, or in person on the Main Level.

Useful Words for Finding Primary Sources in Databases/Catalogs

You can search these terms as either keywords or subjects (the latter is typically more accurate & will bring back less search results):  Archives, correspondence, diaries, interviews, letters, manuscripts, maps, memoirs, narratives (i.e. personal), photographs, propoganda, sources, speeches.

Finding Books by Call Number

Call #                     Subject


DD 1-905              History of Germany

DD 1-21                   General

DD 84-257.4             History

DD175-257.4               Modern, 1519

DD217-231                     New Empire, 1871-1918

DD228.8                            Period of World War I, 1914-1918

DD233-257.4                  Revolution and Republic, 1918

DD253-256.8                     Hitler, 1933-1945. National socialism

DD 256                          Period of World War II, 1939-1945

DD258-262               West Germany

DD280-289.5             East Germany

DD301-454                Prussia

 

  *Note: For a more detailed breakdown of Library of Congress Subject Headings, click here.

Reference Books

European History/Politics

Messick, Frederic M. Primary Sources in European Diplomacy, 1914-1945 : A Bibliography of Published Memoirs and Diaries. Vol. 6. New York: Greenwood Press, 1987.

Stevenson, John. The Columbia Dictionary of European Political History since 1914. New York, N.Y.: Columbia University Press, 1992.

 

Germany

Buse, Dieter K., and Juergen C. Doerr. Modern Germany : An Encyclopedia of History, People, and Culture, 1871-1990. Vol. ol. 1520. New York: Garland Pub., 1998.

 

WW I

Carlisle, Rodney P. Day by Day : The Twenties. New York: Facts on File, 2008.

Ellis, John, and Michael Cox. The World War I Databook : The Essential Facts and Figures for all the Combatants. London: Aurum, 2001.

Enser, A. G. S. A Subject Bibliography of the First World War : Books in English, 1914-1987. Aldershot, Hants, England ; Brookfield, Vt., USA: Gower, 1990.

Gray, Randal, and Christopher Argyle. Chronicle of the First World War. New York: Facts on File, 1990; 1991.

Herwig, Holger H., and Neil M. Heyman. Biographical Dictionary of World War I. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1982.

Higham, Robin D. S., and Dennis E. Showalter. Researching World War I : A Handbook. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2003. <http://www.loc.gov/catdir/toc/fy045/2003045532.html>.

Tucker, Spencer, and Priscilla Mary Roberts. World War I : Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Abc-Clio, 2005. <http://www.loc.gov/catdir/toc/ecip0517/2005022937.html>.

 

WW II

Bigelow, Barbara C., and Christine Slovey. World War II : Primary Sources. Detroit: Uxl, 2000.

Dear, Ian, and M. R. D. Foot. The Oxford Companion to World War II. Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.

Enser, A. G. S. A Subject Bibliography of the Second World War, and Aftermath : Books in English, 1975-1987. Aldershot, Hants, England ; Brookfield, VT, USA: Gower, 1990.

---. A Subject Bibliography of the Second World War, and Aftermath : Books in English, 1975-1987. Aldershot, Hants, England ; Brookfield, VT, USA: Gower, 1990.

Howes, Kelly King, and Christine Slovey. World War II Biographies. Detroit: U-X-L, 1999.

Lee, Loyd E., and Robin D. S. Higham. World War II in Europe, Africa, and the Americas, with General Sources : A Handbook of Literature and Research. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997.

Simon, Jon, Albert E. Smith, and Library of Congress. Humanities and Social Sciences Division. World War II : A Selected List of References. Vol. 16. Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, Humanities and Social Sciences Division, 1992.

Tucker, Spencer, and Priscilla Mary Roberts. Encyclopedia of World War II : A Political, Social, and Military History. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Abc-Clio, 2005. <http://www.loc.gov/catdir/toc/ecip052/2004023745.html>.

Zabecki, David T. World War II in Europe : An Encyclopedia. Vol. ol. 1254. New York: Garland Pub., 1999.

 

Nazi Germany

Benz, Wolfgang, and Walter H. Pehle. Encyclopedia of German Resistance to the Nazi Movement. New York: Continuum, 1997.

Kehr, Helen, and Janet Langmaid. The Nazi Era, 1919-1945 : A Select Bibliography of Published Works from the Early Roots to 1980. London; Bronx, New York: Mansell Pub.; Distributed in the United States and Canada by H.W. Wilson Co., 1982.

Wires, Richard. Terminology of the Third Reich. Muncie, Ind.: Ball State University, 1985.

Wistrich, Robert S. Who's Who in Nazi Germany. London ; New York: Routledge, 1995.

Zentner, Christian, Friedemann Bedürftig, and Amy Hackett. The Encyclopedia of the Third Reich. New York; London: Macmillan; Collier Macmillan, 1991.

 

Holocaust

Cargas, Harry J. The Holocaust : An Annotated Bibliography. 2nd ed. Chicago: American Library Association, 1985.

Drew, Margaret A., and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. Annotated Bibliography. Washington, DC 100 Raoul Wallenberg Place, SW, Washington 20024: U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum, 1994.

Epstein, Eric Joseph, and Philip Rosen. Dictionary of the Holocaust : Biography, Geography, and Terminology. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997.

Gutman, Israel. Encyclopedia of the Holocaust. New York: Macmillan Pub. Co., 1990.

Rosen, Philip, Nina Apfelbaum, and Inc NetLibrary. Bearing Witness. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002. <http://ezproxy.library.ewu.edu/login?url=http://www.netlibrary.com/urlapi.asp?action=summary&v=1&bookid=99173>.

Skolnik, Fred, and Michael Berenbaum. Encyclopaedia Judaica. 2nd ed. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA in association with the Keter Pub. House, 2007.

Szonyi, David M., and National Jewish Resource Center. The Holocaust : An Annotated Bibliography and Resource Guide. Hoboken, NJ: Ktav Pub. House for the National Jewish Resource Center, New York, 1985.

 

See also: Encyclopedia of Genocide and crimes Against humanity (Gale Virtual Reference Library)

Film

Elert, Nicolet V., Aruna Vasudevan, and Leanda Shrimpton. International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers. 3rd ed. Detroit: St. James Press, 1997.

Helt, Richard C., and Marie E. Helt. West German Cinema since 1945 : A Reference Handbook. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1987.

Manvell, Roger. The International Encyclopedia of Film. London: Joseph, 1972.

Art

Turner, Jane Shoaf. The Dictionary of Art. New York: Grove's Dictionaries, 1996.

Literature

Garland, Henry B., and Mary Garland. The Oxford Companion to German Literature. 3rd ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1997.

Watanabe-O'Kelly, Helen. The Cambridge History of German Literature. Cambridge England; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1997.