The guidebook explains the basics of APA in simple, easy-to-understand language and provides the information about the concept of plagiarism, how to find sources and evaluate the sources, as well as use sources in effective ways.
Encyclopedia of Social Work is a continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press. It includes over 800 articles that cover every facet of social work policy and practice, brief biographies of over 200 key figures in social work history, and references and links to related social work resources. Encyclopedia of Social Work is regularly updated with new and revised articles.
A large and comprehensive index of peer-reviewed psychology journals, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations, in some cases back to the 1800's. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
To find empirical articles in PsycInfo database:
Use the "Advanced Search"
Type your keywords into the search boxes
Scroll down the page to "Methodology," and choose "Empirical Study"
Choose other limits, such as publication date, if needed
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) indexes journals as far back as 1937 and provides full-text for over 2,300 journals. Also includes books, dissertations, conference proceedings, research instrument descriptions, and evidence-based care sheets.
Use Google Scholar to search for scholarly articles across the Web (this can be a good complement to subscription databases). Note the citation tracking feature. This link includes Eastern Washington University indicators. You will see "Find it @ EWU" in your results, if we have the article full text in one of our databases.
Finding Empirical Research Articles in Social Work
Research on Social Work Practice (RSWP), published bi-monthly, is a disciplinary journal devoted to the publication of empirical research concerning the assessment methods and outcomes of social work practice. Intervention programs covered include behavior analysis and therapy; psychotherapy or counseling with individuals; case management; and education.
"Evidence-based practice (EBP) is a process in which the practitioner combines well-researched interventions with clinical experience and ethics, and client preferences and culture to guide and inform the delivery of treatments and services."
This book gives an accessible overview of why evidence-based practice is relevant to social work and concepts of evidence-based practice as a process and professional culture, as well as how EBP can be implemented.
Featuring an evidence- and strengths-based approach to practice methods, this book demonstrates how to apply social work skills in a variety of settings, including cases, skills-based exercises, accurate assessments and design effective intervention plans. Client engagement, assessment, intervention, evaluation and termination, and documentation are also reviewed.
This guide describes the steps required to complete a systematic review and the criteria that can be used to assess the quality of existing reviews. Providing coverage for both quantitative and qualitative synthesis methods, examples illustrate the steps and decisions associated with each approach to research synthesis.