Find Books, Videos
Having problems requesting items via Summit? Please contact the JFK Circulation Desk at 509.359.7888, circulation@ewu.edu, or in person on the main level.
- EWU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for books, videos, articles and more at EWU Libraries, Summit Libraries and beyond. While not required, if you want the full functionality (save or request items, etc.), please sign in with your NetID.
eBooks
- University Press Scholarship Online eBooks This link opens in a new windowUnder the Browse by Subject category, click on the link for Classical Studies. *Note: Be sure to select the categories for Unlocked, Free & Open Access content (left hand navigation pane) and click the Submit button to limit to books accessible to EWU patrons.
- Wiley Online eBooks This link opens in a new windowBrowse relevant eBooks by scrolling down the landing page, expanding the Humanities category and click on the Classical Studies link.
Useful Subject Headings
The Library of Congress uses a controlled vocabulary (a unique sequence of words) to organize information in libraries. So if you are trying to find books in our library catalog, you can use some of these terms to help you find books on that particular topic.
Ancient Greece:
- Civilization Classical
- Ancient Greece
- Greece Civilization
- Greece History
- Greece Historiography
- Greece Religion
- Mysteries, Religious
- Cults Greece
- Philosophy, Ancient
- Skeptics (Greek philosophy)
- Cynics (Greek philosophy)
- Plato
- Greece in Literature
- Classical literature History and criticism
- Greek drama History and criticism
- Theater Greece History
- Greek in Literature
- Greece Drama
- Athens (Greece) Drama
- Aristophanes
- Sophocles Oedipus Rex
- Oedipus (Greek mythology) in literature
- Thucydides
- Thucydides History of the Peloponnesian War
- Women Greece History
- Women Greece Social conditions
- Sex customs Greece History
- Prostitution Greece History
- Homosexuality history Greece
- Slavery Greece History
Greek Military History:
- Military art and science Greece History
- Military history, Ancient Greece
- Greece History, Military
- Weapons, Ancient Greece History
- Armor, Ancient Greece History
- Peloponnesian War
- Greece History Peloponnesian War, 431-404 B.C.
- Sparta (Extinct city) History, Military
- Sparta (Extinct city) Army
Macedonia:
- Alexander the Great
- Alexander the Great, 356-323 B.C.
- Greece History Macedonian Expansion, 359-323 B.C.
- Philip II, King of Macedonia, 382-336 B.C. Influence.
Ancient Rome:
- Rome Civilization
- Rome History
- Rome History 265-30 B.C.
- Rome History Empire, 30 B.C.- 476 A.D.
- Rome Historiography
- Philosophy, Ancient
- Stoics
- Skeptics (Greek philosophy)
- Cynics (Greek philosophy)
- Rome In literature
- Women Rome History
- Women Rome Social conditions
- Sex customs Rome
- Prostitution Rome History
- Homosexuality history Rome
- Rome Religion
- Christian women Rome History
- Women in Christianity History Early church, ca. 30-600
- Cults Rome
- Vestal virgins
- Slavery Rome History
- Slavery Rome Social conditions
- Slave insurrections Rome
Roman Military History:
- Armor, Ancient Rome History
- Hannibal, 247-182 B.C.
- Logistics.
- Military art and science Rome History
- Military history, Ancient Rome
- Punic wars
- Rome Army Equipment and supplies.
- Rome Army Supplies and stores.
- Rome Army Transportation.
- Weapons, Ancient Rome History
Call Numbers to Browse
We use the Library of Congress method to organize our books. If you want to browse the book shelves to find books in classical studies, look in these areas of the library:
B's for philosophy, religion & mythology:
B 108-708 (ancient philosophy)
BL 300-325 (comparative mythology)
BR 1-1725 (Christianity)
BS 1-2970 (Bible)
D's are history:
DE 1-100 (Greco-Roman)
DF 10-289 (Ancient Greece)
DG 11-365 (Ancient Italy)
PA for Greek & Latin literature:
PA 1-899 (Greek philology & language)
PA 3000-4499 (Greek literature)
PA 6000-6961 (Roman literature)
Ancient Egypt
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt by Call Number: Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (DT58 .O94 2001)ISBN: 0195102347Publication Date: 2001
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Egyptian Architecture by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (NA215 .A7513 2003)ISBN: 0691114889Publication Date: 2003
Atlases
Atlas of Classical Archaeology. M.I. Finley ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1977. JFK Upper Level Book Stacks. G1046. E15 A8 1977.
Atlas of Classical History. Richard Talbert. New York: Macmillan, 1985. JFK Main Level Reference Atlases. G1033 .A833 1985.
Atlas of the Greek World. Peter Levi. New York: Facts on File, 1985. JFK Main Level Reference. DF77 .43 1985.
Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World. Richard Talbert ed. Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press, 2000. JFK Main Level Reference Atlases. G1033 .B3 2000. (CD-ROM version located in the main level reference collection)
Classics Books you can Check Out
The Cambridge Ancient History by Call Number: JFK Library Upper Level Book Stacks (D57 .C252 1970)ISBN: 9780521070515Publication Date: 197014 vol. available. *An older version of this work is also available in the same area on the shelf.
The Cambridge Companion to Early Greek Philosophy by Call Number: JFK Library Upper Level Book Stacks (B188 .C35 1999 )ISBN: 0521441226Publication Date: 1999
The Cambridge Companion to Greek and Roman Philosophy by Call Number: JFK Library Upper Level Book Stacks (B111 .C36 2003)ISBN: 0521772850Publication Date: 2003
The Cambridge Companion to the Roman Historians by Call Number: JFK Upper Level Book Stacks. DG205 .C35 2009ISBN: 9780521854535Publication Date: 2009
A Companion to Greek and Roman Historiography by Call Number: JFK Library Upper Level Book Stacks (DE8 .C65 2007)ISBN: 9781405102162Publication Date: 2008
A Companion to the Roman Empire by Call Number: JFK Library Upper Level Book Stacks (DG311 .P68 2006)ISBN: 0631226443Publication Date: 2006
A Companion to the Roman Republic by Call Number: JFK Library Upper Level Book Stacks (DG235 .C65 2010)ISBN: 9781444334135Publication Date: 2010
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias for Classics
Brill's New Pauly by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: DE5 .N3513 2002ISBN: 9004122591*Note: We only have volume 1.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: B51 .E53 2006ISBN: 002865780210 volumes
Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: DG270 .B86 2002ISBN: 0816045623
The Oxford Classical Dictionary by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: DE5 .O9 2003ISBN: 0198606419Note: Older versions available in the circulating collection.
The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature by Call Number: JFK Library JFK Main Level Reference (PA31 .H69 1989)ISBN: 0198661215Publication Date: 1989
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by ISBN: 0415073103Publication Date: JFK Main Level Reference: B51 .R68 199810 volumes
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae by Call Number: JFK Upper Level Book Stacks PA3051 .B4 1990ISBN: 0195060377A unique bibliography of literary works that survive from Greek antiquity, this Canon is a register of all the information stored in the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae, a vast computerized database of Greek literature whose coverage is from Homer (8th century BCE) to the fall of Byzantium (1453 CE). The book encompasses nearly 3,200 authors, representing over 8,000 individual works. It includes invaluable information on each writer's dates and geographical origins, their works, the genre to which each work belongs, the form in which each work survives, and the number of words each contains. Of particular usefulness is information on the standard or best textual edition of each work, as recommended by a special committee of the American Philological Association.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias for Early Christianity
A dictionary of Christian biography, literature, sects and doctrines : being a continuation of "The dictionary of the Bible" by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference BR95 .S65 1967Publication Date: 1967
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference BR162.2 .E53 1997ISBN: 0815316631Publication Date: 1997Written by a team of over 160 scholars, this new expanded and revised edition is a comprehensive survey of Christianity's first six centuries. The work explores all aspects of its subject from theological, historical and literary viewpoints.- Encyclopedia of the Early Church by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference BR66.5 .D5813 1992ISBN: 0195208927Publication Date: 1992-02-20
Encyclopedia of Religion by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference BL31 .E46 2005ISBN: 0028657330Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Religious and Philosophical Writings in Late Antiquity by Call Number: BL31 .E466 2007ISBN: 0391041401Publication Date: 2007
New Catholic Encyclopedia by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference BX841 .N44 2003ISBN: 0787640042Publication Date: 2002For an older, online edition of this work, go to this link [http://newadvent.org/cathen/].
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference BR95 .O8 1997ISBN: 019211655XPublication Date: 1997
Greek Mythology
- The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature by Call Number: EWU JFK Library Main Level Reference (PA31 .H69 1989)ISBN: 0198661215Publication Date: 1989
- Who's Who in Greek and Roman Mythology by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (BL715 .K7 1976)ISBN: 0517527464Publication Date: 1976
Women of Classical Mythology by Call Number: EWU-Cheney JFK Main Level Reference (BL715 .B445 1991)ISBN: 0874365813Publication Date: 1991
