My Profile
Paul Victor
Contact:
JFK Library
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
509-359-7909
Get Help
- Text Message us! 509-383-8677 (not 24/7)
- 509-359-2263 JFK Library reference desk (Cheney)
Access Databases from Off-Campus
All of our databases may be accessed from any computer connected to the Internet, with your Single Sign-on (SSO) username and password. This username/password is the same one that you use to log into campus computers, the wireless network, EWU Google Drive, EWU email, etc.
If you have not created your password, go to accounts.ewu.edu. See IT Support Solutions for more information.
If you have problems logging in, see below.
Anthropology Databases
- Anthropology Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase includes Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature which covers journal articles, reports and commentaries for anthropology, archaeology, and related research back to the 19th century.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAround 200 anthropology and archaeology journals, along with thousands of journals covering virtually all subjects, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles and analyzes citaitons for around 800 anthropology and archaeology journals, along with tens of thousands of others for the sciences and social sciences.
- EWU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Along with books, the EWU Library Catalog has records for millions of articles. For scholarly articles, click Peer Reviewed Journals on the left side. The default is to what we should have available full text online. To expand to more articles, click the box Include results with no full text in the upper left corner. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this link to Google Scholar, specific for EWU. You will see "Find it @ EWU" in your results, to check to see if we have it full text in a database, in print/microfilm, or a link to request it via Interlibrary Loan
Art Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books, and videos in all subjects. See below for a list of Visual Arts and Arts Education-related titles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from over 100 scholarly art and art history journals, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
- EWU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use the "Articles, EWU, Summit" scope to search across resource types (books, articles, videos, etc.). Select "Material Type" = "Articles" to limit your search to only articles. Results includes entries from many databases subscribed to by EWU Libraries (EBSCO databases are not indexed in this system).
Art Images
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowImages of art, architecture, photographs and videos from art museums from around the world. Keyword search or browse by collection, type, or geography. Create an individual account to download the images. Downloaded images can be used in the classroom and non-commercial educational use.
- Smithsonian Institution Research Information System This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Search over 7.4 million records, with 568,100 images, video and sound files from Smithsonian museums, archives, and libraries." Free resource.Click on the "Image Gallery Browse" to see images from digitized collections held at the Smithsonian (direct link: https://collections.si.edu/search/gallery.htm)
- University of Washington: Art: Images GuideUse the links under "UW Image Guide", "Digital Images - Museum Collections" and "Digital Images - General Content" to access free resources (except Vogue Archive). Do not use their link to Artstor; it is the UW-specific link and you will not be able to log in with your EWU SSO. Instead, use the EWU Artstor link above.
- Free Media Resources/Photography (Wikimedia Commons)
- This link opens in a new window
Links to sources of freely licensed and public domain images on the Web. Caution: The presence of a resource on this list does not guarantee that all or any of the images in it are in the public domain. You are still responsible for checking the Copyright status of images. - Google ImagesGoogle's search engine for images.
Art images are readily accessible, but it is important to determine whether an image is in the public domain or whether the image is copyrighted. If the image is copyrighted, permission from the artist or owner is required.
Ethnic Studies Related Databases
- Latino American Experience This link opens in a new windowPrimary and secondary sources,including biographies, on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States.
Film Databases
- Communication & Mass Media and MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost)Since both of these databases cover film journals, search both at the same time.
- JSTOR Film Studies JournalsFull-text articles from around 10 scholarly film studies journals, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago. Includes: Cinema Journal, Film History, Film Quarterly, and PAJ: A Journal of Performance & Art.
Gender Studies
- LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals, magazines, and books, along with indexing from hundreds more. Dates of coverage vary by title, but some go back to the mid-1950s/1960s.
- Women’s Studies Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowProvides a history of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society with a focus on the 19th and 20th centuries. Access to diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals on issues such as societal contributions, social status, and women's movements and more.
History Databases
- America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) -- 1954-present This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database for U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Materials include history journals, book reviews from core history journals and relevant dissertations.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost) -- 1954-present This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. Find full text from hundreds of scholarly journals and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
Multidiscipinary Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books, and videos in all subjects.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBack files of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from social science & humanities journals, back to 1999. Indexing only for articles older than 1999 & some journals this library does not subscribe to.
Music Databases
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database for music literature, covering journals, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, etc.
- JSTOR (contains music journals)Full-text articles from over 60 scholarly journals for music, from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago.
Latin American Studies
Political Science Databases
Sociology
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDatabase for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.