Searches across several Gale literary databases, including Literature Criticism, Gale eBooks - Biography & Literature collections, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Something About the Author (biographical and critical information on children's and YA authors). Formerly named Gale Literary Sources, Artemis Literary.
NOTE: If you have difficulty navigating the documents that are scans from books, try downloading it as a PDF, the download icon is on the top right.
Access to biographical dictionaries and "Who's Who" books, used for finding which reference book has an entry on a particular person.
Biography Resources: Print
Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia by David Crystal (Editor)
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference CT103 .C26 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Contains over 15,000 short biographies, both historical and contemporary. An updated web version with over 25,000 biographies is available through A&E television at biography.com.
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference: CT100 C8
Biographies of notables in the arts, sports, national and world affairs and the sciences. Entries are two to three pages, based on interviews as well as published sources.
Encyclopedia of World Biography by Suzanne M. Bourgoin; Paula K. Byers
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference CT103 .E56 1998
Publication Date: 1997
Originally published in 1973 by McGraw Hill, this authoritative set is entirely revised and updated -- the first complete revision in 25 years. This second edition includes approximately 2,000 more entries than the 1st edition, with more women, multicultural and international coverage, bringing the total to approximately 7,000 biographies on notables from every part of the world and from all time periods.
Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era by Steve Shipp
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference N6502.4 .S45 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Reference Guide to Latin American History by James D. Henderson; Helen Delpar; Maurice P. Brungardt; Richard Weldon
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference F1410 .R395 2000
Publication Date: 2000
This reference work covers Latin American history and is divided into three parts: a descriptive chronology of key events from pre-Columbian times to the present; a thematic survey of topics; and a biographical section containing over 300 entries.
Who is who, government, politics, banking and industry in Latin America. by Bettina Corke
Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference JL957 .W47 1989