History 498: Early Christianity

A list of bibliographies for theology compiled by William Harmless, S.J. for his students at Creighton University. The bibliographies contain a wide range of materials from journal articles, texts/translations, surveys, reference books and more. He gives a brief review/evaluation of some important texts. Time periods covered in the bibliographies range from The New Testament to the 20th Century.

See specifically the Bibliographies for the Study of Early Christianity & Patristic Theology [http://moses.creighton.edu/harmless/bibliographies_for_theology/Patristics_0.htm]

"The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education." Browse the collection by author or see the Early Church Fathers section [http://www.ccel.org/fathers.html].

The mission of the Voice of the Shuttle is "to provide a structured and briefly annotated guide to online resources." The site lists both primary and secondary sources materials available online. The site is maintained by Professor Alan Liu and the Dept. of English at the University of California, Santa Barbara.

"Codex Sinaiticus, a manuscript of the Christian Bible written in the middle of the fourth century, contains the earliest complete copy of the Christian New Testament. The hand-written text is in Greek. The New Testament appears in the original vernacular language (koine) and the Old Testament in the version, known as the Septuagint, that was adopted by early Greek-speaking Christians. In the Codex, the text of both the Septuagint and the New Testament has been heavily annotated by a series of early correctors."

The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. Use the top navigation links to select the time period or subject that you want to examine. The site is edited by Paul Halsall and hosted by Fordham University.

"The New Testament Gateway is a comprehensive directory of academic internet resources related to the New Testament. It is divided into several sub-directories and dozens of pages, each relating to a specific topic. Every link is annotated. The annotations help users to pinpoint the information for which they are looking. The New Testament Gateway focuses on resources that will be of interest to both scholars and students of the New Testament." The site is maintained by Dr Mark Goodacre, Associate Professor in the Dept of Religion at Duke University in North Carolina.