Subject Expert
Paul Victor
Contact:
JFK Library
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
320 Media Lane
Cheney, WA 99004
Office Hours: By appointment.
509-359-7909
Useful Subject Headings in the Catalog
- Theology -- History -- Early church, ca. 30-600.
- Religious thought -- To 600.
- Christianity -- Philosophy.
- Church history -- Primitive and early church, ca. 30-600.
- Philosophy and religion -- History of doctrines -- Early church, ca. 30-600.
Useful Call Numbers for Religion
BR 1-1725 Christianity
BS 1-2970 The Bible
BT 10-1480 Doctrinal Theology
BV 1-5099 Practical Theology
BX 1-9999 Christian Denominations
Greek Literature
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae by Call Number: JFK Upper Level Book Stacks PA3051 .B4 1990ISBN: 0195060377Publication Date: 1990A unique bibliography of literary works that survive from Greek antiquity, this Canon is a register of all the information stored in the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae, a vast computerized database of Greek literature whose coverage is from Homer (8th century BCE) to the fall of Byzantium (1453 CE). The book encompasses nearly 3,200 authors, representing over 8,000 individual works and some 64,000,000 words of Greek text. It includes invaluable information on each writer's dates and geographical origins, their works, the genre to which each work belongs, the form in which each work survives, and the number of words each contains. Of particular usefulness is information on the standard or best textual edition of each work, as recommended by a special committee of the American Philological Association.
Find Books, Videos
Having problems requesting items via Summit? Please contact the JFK Circulation Desk at 509.359.7888, circulation@ewu.edu, or in person on the main level.
- EWU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for books, videos, articles and more at EWU Libraries, Summit Libraries and beyond. While not required, if you want the full functionality (save or request items, etc.), please sign in with your NetID.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias for Early Christianity
A dictionary of Christian biography, literature, sects and doctrines : being a continuation of "The dictionary of the Bible" by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference BR95 .S65 1967Publication Date: 1967
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference BR162.2 .E53 1997ISBN: 0815316631Publication Date: 1997Written by a team of over 160 scholars, this new expanded and revised edition is a comprehensive survey of Christianity's first six centuries. The work explores all aspects of its subject from theological, historical and literary viewpoints.- Encyclopedia of the Early Church by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference BR66.5 .D5813 1992ISBN: 0195208927Publication Date: 1992-02-20
Encyclopedia of Religion by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference BL31 .E46 2005ISBN: 0028657330Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Religious and Philosophical Writings in Late Antiquity by Call Number: BL31 .E466 2007ISBN: 0391041401Publication Date: 2007
New Catholic Encyclopedia by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference BX841 .N44 2003ISBN: 0787640042Publication Date: 2002For an older, online edition of this work, go to this link [http://newadvent.org/cathen/].
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by Call Number: JFK Main Level Reference BR95 .O8 1997ISBN: 019211655XPublication Date: 1997
